Meets King Tubby's
U Roy
December 8, 2006

U-Roy Track list
  1. Gorgan Wise
  2. Gorgan Dub
  3. Joyful Locks
  4. Hold On
  5. Hold Dub
  6. Heavy Duty
  7. Rock With I
  8. Rock Dub
  9. Jump For Joy
  10. Feel Jah Spirit
  11. Spirit Dub
  12. Too Much War
  13. Every Knee Shall Bow
  14. Every Dub
  15. I Shall Not Be Moved
  16. Cool Down Your Temper
  17. Cool Dub
  18. Creation Rebel
  19. Creation Dub
  20. King Tubbys Skank
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4/5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 4 Sleeve : 3/4
U-Roy's rise to fame was slow, and took almost a decade. He began back in 1961, DJ'ing at Doctor Dickie's Dynamite Sound System. Eventually, he moved onto the Sir Mike the Musical Thunderstorm outfit, and then in 1968 to the Sir George the Atomic Sound System. The DJ was then lured away by Coxsone Dodd. However, soon tired of playing second fiddle to longtime veteran King Stitt, he returned to Sir George. Around this same time, he met up with another royal figure, King Tubby, then working as a disc cutter at Duke Reid's studio. The mechanic was just beginning his musical experiments that eventually led him to develop dub, and at the moment he was giving his proto-dub experimental discs to a handful of his favorite DJ's. The following year, King Tubby launched his own Hi-Fi Sound System and brought in U-Roy as his top DJ. By then, the DJ had established himself as one of the premier talents of the Sound System scene.

This compilation set offers a wicked selection of classic songs, all of them produced by ace producer Bunny 'Striker' Lee. U Roy does all the vocals on the album while King Tubby supplies the excellent and mostly well known dub versions of these tunes. 'The Originator' kicks off by riding Cornel Campbell's The Gorgon, which is followed by King Tubby's dub version. Joyfull Locks is a great remake of U Brown's "Joyfull Dreadlocks" over Linval Thompson's "Don't Cut Off Your Dreadlocks" riddim. The "Fi Wi Rock" riddim in the dub version sounds just as good through your speakers as the original version of Rock With I by Johnny Clarke. The classic Feel Jah Spirit remains a truly wonderful tune to hear, while King Tubby did a nice job when he created the dub version of this track. U Roy also rides on Johnny Clarke's Too Much War and Every Knee Shall Bow, with a great dub by King Tubby. Another Johnny Clarke song, Creation Rebel, was also used by U Roy and King Tubby to create a new version, just like Linval Thompson's "Cool Down Your Temper", and again these veterans did a very good job. The album closes with King Tubby's Skank featuring an original King Tubby sound twist on the song, as U Roy says : "stay away as I would tell you, stay away, 'cause Tubby's on the scene to stay!"

A selection of killer cuts from the longtime veteran U Roy and dub wizard King Tubby.