Album review
Organized Kryme featuring Johnny Osbourne
1st Step Records
22 - 02 - 2000

Tracking list

  1. Ice Cream Love
  2. Why Not
  3. Kryme Dog
  4. Yo Yo
  5. Surgeon General
  6. Who Goes
  7. Eternal
  8. Jah Love
  9. Alien
  10. Grievous World
  11. Yo Yo Brawta
  12. Ice Cream Brawta
  13. Jah Love Brawta
  14. Grievous Brawta
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4/5

The album Vibe comes from the '1st Step Records' camp, runn by the brothers Tulloch. Their previous albums -as Foreign Exchange- were two solid, straight forward quality sets, but with this project they dig deeper into the roots of dub and reggae. The vocals of reggae veteran Johnny 'Bumpy' Osbourne can be heard on four tracks : "Ice Cream Love, Yo Yo, Jah Love and Grievous Word. All four tracks are also present on the album as dub remixes. The Johnny Osbourne tracks form the distinctive cornerstones of this refreshing and adventurous album. The qualities of Johnny Osbourne don't need any further introduction, and the producers of the album managed to get the best out of this vocalist. The rest of the tracks are amazing and willful dub/instrumental pieces, except for Surgeon Special that features the vocals of Colin Channer. The musicians have revived the sound of of the great King Tubby and Lee 'Scratch' Perry, adapting it to the sound of the new millennium.
If you're looking for something "else" be sure to check out this album.

Teacher & Mr. T.