Vibrant Forms
Chain Reaction
April 28, 2005

Track list
  1. Lark
  2. Hiatus
  3. Lapses
  4. Largo
  5. Atlos
  6. Cyclops Machine
  7. Fovea Centralis
  8. Pendoulous
  9. Influx
  10. Opaque
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 5 Backing : 5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 5
This Chain Reaction music (from the same umbrella label as Rhythm and Sound) has been erroneously described as "techno dub", or "house dub" -- which usually implies some kind of dull derivative hybrid, a fusion which all too often depends on the least original aspects of both genres.

Fluxion/Chain Reaction/Vibrant Form's music couldn't be further away from such a description -- This is intelligent and carefully thought out music.

Some of the sounds on Fluxion's "Vibrant Forms" are reminiscent of the feverish percussive beat-loops, massively treated horns and dub bass lines on Jon Hassel's "Possible Worlds".

One can also liken Fluxion to traditional African tribal music -- just as tribal musicians echoed the complex and vibrant sounds heard in jungles and forests, so Fluxion recreate the cold hard sounds of the inner city.

But over and above comparasion, Fluxion's music is deeply original-- and that is something rarely heard now. "Lark" is driven by pounding snare rimshots in cyclical waves, whilst "Lapses" is a cold African soundscape. "Pendoulos" sounds like it was recorded underwater. "Hiatus" is reminscent of Steve Reich's "Early Works" with its slow burning complex loops and an African percussion splice driving the industrial structure.

"Atlos" is close in its wintery coldness to the more ambient, less beat driven Rhythm & Sound releases. "Fovea Centralis" is eerie, urban and percussive, inner city rhythm and noise. "Opaque" is made up of metallic sheets of fluctuating patterns.

From start to finish, there is not a bad track here. Highly, highly recommended.