Album review
Everton Blender

Tracking list

  1. If You Want To Make It
  2. Jah Vibes
  3. Lover's Holiday
  4. Slackness featuring Beenie Man
  5. Jah Never Fail I Yet
  6. Golden Pen
  7. I Love Jah
  8. Kanta
  9. Brain Food featuring Anthony B
  10. Been Trying
  11. Inside Out
  12. Leonard Howell
  13. Love In My Heart
  14. War Monger Man
  15. Loving You
  16. Kanta Combination featuring Tony Rebel
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 5 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 5

Some two years after the release of "Rootsman Credential", ever conscious singer Everton Blender (real name Everton Williams) unleashes his next studio album. Sixteen tracks on the CD, all produced by Everton Blender himself for his own "Blend Dem Productions" with the exception of the Dale "Selassi" McLean produced tune "War Monger Man", which comes courtesy of Tuff Riddim Records.
"Visionary" opens very strong with the standout tune "If You Want To Make It" and the solid "Jah Vibes". Next drops the very disappointing "Lover's Holiday", a superfluous rendition of Cliff Richard's sixties' pop hit "Summer Holiday", which can be regarded as one of the weakest tracks on this album. With first the combination tune "Slackness" and then the solo piece for the same riddim "Jah Never Fail I Yet" Everton Blender gradually returns to form. "Golden Pen" is up to the artist's usual standard and the same goes for "I Love Jah", delivered over the riddim which the late great Garnett Silk once utilized for his Black Scorpio single "Zion In A Vision". The uptempo piece "Kanta" - at the end re-done in combination with Tony Rebel - and "Brain Food" are truly solid deliveries, while "Been Trying" belongs to the standout tracks. It's with the latter's kind of backdrops that Everton Blender seemingly feels at ease. "Inside Out" is a fine tune, followed by the inspired sounding piece, "Leonard Howell", a tribute to that so-called Gong Guru Marra who fought for Rasta rights in Jamaica. Love In My Heart fails to make a serious impression in contrary to the excellent "War Monger Man" which is delivered over a wicked contemporary version of Glen Brown's classic "Green Bay Killing" riddim. With "Loving You" the mood changes from history to lovers, a nice effort to listen to, but definitely not belonging to the tunes on this CD that can count on a repeat button treatment.
Although Everton Blender's "Visionary" contains solid conscious reggae music, it can't be denied that this brandnew album also features some weak to mediocre tunes. Thus we can't rate it first class, but do check it out 'cause there are enough goodies to enjoy.

Teacher & Mr. T.