Album review
The Vintage Series Barry Biggs
Barry Biggs
VP Records
21 - 08 - 2000

Tracking list

  1. Wide Awake In A Dream
  2. Love Come Down
  3. Just My Imagination
  4. Since You've Been Gone
  5. So Much In Love
  6. This Is Good Life
  7. Love On A Two Way Street
  8. Rain From The Skies
  9. For The Love Of You
  10. Sideshow
  11. Sincerely
  12. Let's Put It All Together
  13. I'm In The Mood
  14. What's Your Sign
  15. A Night Like This
  16. It's Time For Love
  17. Goodnight My Love
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 5 Backing : 4/5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 4/5 Sleeve : 5

The VP Records' series 'The Vintage Series' presents a fine overview of Barry Biggs' musical career. He started off by doing a cover version of Stevie Wonder's 'My Cherie Amour' in his soothing falsetto style. He later joined Byron Lee and The Dragonaires in 1970 and had a hit with another cover called 'Got To Be Mellow'. After working for a brief period as a restaurant manager he started recording again and a string of hits followed.
Combining his falsetto vocals with the sounds of his favourite bands like The Chi-Lites, The Stylistics, The Temptations and The Blues Busters, and the infectious, authentic reggae riddims Barry Biggs brought out the best of the lovers rock with hits such as Sideshow, Wide Awake In A Dream, What's Your Sign, Just My Imagination, Love Come Down and Let's Put It All Together. Some of these tunes went on the UK National charts with the most successful being Sideshow, which peaked at number three.
This album is a great overview of Barry's musical career on the sweet side of lover's rock reggae.

Teacher & Mr. T.