Album review
The Vintage Series Dobby Dobson
Dobby Dobson
VP Records
21 - 08 - 2000

Tracking list

  1. This Is My Story
  2. Sweet Dreams
  3. Muriel
  4. Words
  5. Mexican Divorce
  6. What Love Has Joined Together
  7. That Wonderful Sound
  8. Halfway To Paradise
  9. Loving Pauper
  10. Seems To Me I'm Losing You
  11. Cry A Little Cry
  12. Strange
  13. Endlessly
  14. Here Is The Reason
  15. Diamonds & Pearls
  16. Baby Make It Soon
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 5 Backing : 4 Production : 5 Sound quality : 4 Sleeve : 5

The VP Records' series 'The Vintage Series' presents a fine overview of Dobby Dobson. While attending Kingston College he teamed up with fellow schoolmates Howard Barrett, who later became a member of the Paragons, Dennis Gayleand Keith Byfield. He recorded his first number one hit song Cry A Little Cry inspired by his favourite high school teacher and at the same time showed his skill in penmanship. Adding to his penmanship are Diamonds & Pearls by Dobby and The Deltas. One of his major hits, Loving Pauper was recorded by Duke Reid on the Treasure Isle label one week after he wrote it while sitting under an almond tree on Arnold Road in Kingston. In the depths of his depression, following a failed romance, he wrote the love song Seems To Me I'm Losing You and recorded it for producer C.S. Dodd.
On the album you'll find some fine covers. One of Dooby's major hits, the Rupie Edwards produced Endlessly, was a cover of the Brook Benton original. Strange, a Patsy Cline standard was interpreted in a cool Dobby Dobson style in 1962. The Drifters hit Mexican Divorce was covered by him with backgrounds done by the Meditations. In 1977 Dobby Dobson enjoyed massive chart success with his remake of the Bee Gees' Words. It was Donovan's Germaine (Penthouse) first number one hit.
Fine vintage stuff !

Teacher & Mr. T.