Album review
The Vintage Series
Pat Kelly
VP Records/Walboomers Music
03 - 09 - 2000

Tracking list

  1. I'm In The Mood
  2. Minstrel & Queen aka Queen Majesty
  3. Dark End Of The Street
  4. It's You I Love
  5. I've Been Trying
  6. Little Boy Blue
  7. Whiter Shade Of Pale
  8. You'll Want Me Back aka You Don't Care
  9. Night & Day
  10. Sit & Cry
  11. It's A Good Day
  12. Talk About Love
  13. How Long
  14. I'm So Proud
  15. Then You Can Tell Me Goodbye
  16. There Comes A Time
  17. Um Um Um Um Um
  18. Love O Love
  19. You'll Want Me Back aka You Don't Care
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4/5 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 4 Sleeve : 4/5

Pat Kelly is a smooth falsetto-voiced love meister who has been described as Jamaica's Sam Cooke and his covers of songs like those of the late great Curtis Mayfield are a testament to the R&B influence. Pat, a qualified studio engineer, started singing just by chance, due to constant pressure from friends, having heard his voice in the studio. As a matter of fact Pat was never interested in making singing acareer, but he eventually did, and became a successful singer/songwriter.He has had a 30 year career of singing as naturally as a breath, weaving his syrupy magic around classics like You don't care, Little boy blue, Queen Majesty, Dark end of the street and How long , just to name a few. He was born in 1949 and replaced Slim Smith in 1967 as lead singer of The Techniques, who were one of Duke Reid's most succesful vocal groups. In 1968 Kelly switched to Bunny Lee, delivering an instant hit with the Curtis Mayfield classic Little boy blue. In the early seventies the Beatles' Apple label offered Kelly a contract, but he was unable to act on this offer because of prior commitments. Since then he has recorded sporadically, and became an engineer for the Channel One studios.
This compilation offers his best tunes he recorded for ace producers like Bunny Lee and Duke Reid... Excellent stuff !

Teacher & Mr. T.