Positive Dub Action
Volt Selector
May 9, 2010

Volt Selector - Positive Dub Action Track list
  1. Hey Brothers
  2. Who Should Know It
  3. Ballin's
  4. Popo
  5. Orient Express
  6. Antenna
  7. Overstand
  8. Faya's Hot
  9. Tik Tak Toe
  10. Work It
  11. With You
  12. Voltage Selector
  13. Emotion Dub
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4
Volt Selector is a Belgian band with frontman Philippe Boulon of Studio Pagol accompanied by Fayaman (who's responsible for the lead vocals) and Dynamic. Their album 'Positive Dub Action' is an interesting set of 13 tracks, exploring the musical concept of dub, hiphop and electro. They describe it as: "....another intergalactical musical adventure born from interstellar tripping...Harmonics & rhythmics blending into a green, yellow & red cocktail, a perfect chill!".

The album offers lots of urban dance grooves, all self penned material except the cover of Kraftwerk's (!) classic Antenna and a surprisingly strong cover of TCMatic's With You (Jump It). The album opens in good dub/reggae/drum&bass fashion with Hey Brothers. Who Should Know It makes a solid impression, while Popo is interstellar dubwise music... check it out! The uptempo track Overstand reveals the fabulous vocalizing wizardry of Fayaman.

The closing track Emotion rounds off an interesting album, not for reggae purists, but for those who are willing to board on Volt Selector's vessel straight from the electro-dub constellation.