Album review
Watch Over We
Prince Malachi

Tracking list

  1. Watch Over We
  2. Jah It's I
  3. Meditation Time
  4. Universal Pain (With Lion)
  5. Look Around
  6. We'll Be Strong
  7. Seek And You Will Find
  8. Why Do We Have To Live This Way
  9. Fishers Of Men
  10. River Nile with Prince Bob
  11. Where Do They Go
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 5 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4

Already Prince Malachi's second album in a row - and released within one year - for Xterminator producer Phillip "Fatis" Burrell. Regarding his previous delivery "Love Jah" aka "Prophet, Priest & King" this association between singer and producer isn't a wrong one at all. And indeed, with "Watch Over We" Prince Malachi and "Fatis" deliver another solid and appealing modern roots album. And what's more, this album is even more balanced than its predecessor, with some tracks firing strong while others are more soft-spoken. Besides that he fully showcases that he has developed as an artist and truly has risen to his potential. Lyrically excellent and vocally in good shape, Prince Malachi keeps you involved from the beginning till the very end. Although his voice is unmistakably reminiscent of Luciano, he truly tries to avoid being to much a clone of the "messenger". In contrary to his first Xterminator album, this new release contains mainly fresh riddims, provided by the excellent playing Xterminator Crew, consisting of Sly & Robbie, Donald Dennis, Dean Fraser, Lenky, Chris Meredith and Jazzwad. Many fine, solid conscious tunes and personal favourites like "Universal Pain" and the awesome roots killer "Fishers Of Men" make this album well worth checking out !

Teacher & Mr. T.