Album review
WEA Records
27 - 06 - 2002

Tracking list

  1. Waterpumpee with Anthony B (Waanback 2002)
  2. Wir sind's (eeed) (RMX by Illvibe, Based + P. Baigorry)
  3. Psychedelic Kingdom (live)
  4. Riddim No 1 (Fresher Videomix)
  5. Doctors Darling (Version)
  6. Top Of The City (Herbaliser Remix)
  7. Video "Riddim No. 1"
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 5

Seeed is a German band, founded in the late nineties, with the intention to create a sound of New Orleans-Marching-Style and DUB and Hip Hop. The band consists of eleven (!) persons and for the release of this mini-cd they have teamed up with renown roots-dancehall artist Anthony B. The track Waterpumpee is across the "Doctor's Darling" riddim - actually a revitalized version of Gregory Isaacs' "Night Nurse" - and is a kind of remake of Anthony B's hittune "Waan Back", a track from his "Universal Struggle" album. The song is a real killer tune and sees Anthony B in topform, while the combination of German and Jamaican lyrics adds a little extra ! "Wir Sind's (eeed)" is a sort of Electro-rap, while the live track "Psychedelic Kingdom" (recorded in Zurich, Switzerland) uses a traditional one-drop riddim with nuff effects. Riddim No. 1 comes with a solid hip hop influence. The instrumental version of Waterpumpee is also included here and is called Doctor's Darling. The tune Top Of The City is remniscent to "Promised Land", just listen to the horns section ! As an extra the video of Riddim No. 1 is included on this mini-cd. Do check this out, 'cause it's very humorous !
Very interesting set !

Teacher & Mr. T.