We Free Again
Young Tree Records
April 3, 2005

Track list
  1. Praising
  2. Dem Rise
  3. Suffer the Right
  4. Music Is the Most High
  5. Wish Them Well
  6. We Free Again
  7. Smile
  8. Fourth Dimension
  9. Feel Jah
  10. Cultural Wars I
  11. Cultural Wars II
  12. Cultural Wars III
  13. Cultural Wars IV
  14. The Seventh Seal
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4/5 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 5
"We Free Again" is Groundation's fifth studio album in five years and features legendary Jamaican guest vocalists Albert "Apple" Craig (former member of Israel Vibration) and Don Carlos, who was part of Black Uhuru. The collaboration with these two reggae veterans follows the trend of their past two albums as "Hebron Gate" had guest appearances by Don Carlos and The Congos, while "Each One, Teach One" featured legendary Nyabinghi drummer Ras Michael and Marcia Higgs, daughter of Joe Higgs.

The members of Groundation are strongly inspired by classical roots reggae, but their musical efforts have more to offer as the band brings together the roots of reggae, the energy of rock music, the groove of soul music and the virtuosity of jazz. The reference to jazz is obvious because all musicians of Groundation have had a jazz education at California State University. Lead singer Harrison Stafford, who has a voice that can be situated somewhere between Bob Marley and David Lindley (an American multi-instrumentalist and singer who is known for his many years as the featured accompanist with Jackson Browne), delivers his lyrics in an energetic and powerful style. Stafford's appealing vocal delivery is perfectly complemented by Apple's croaky falsetto harmonies, which brings to mind the heydays of Israel Vibration.

Apple plays an active, noticeable role in tunes like "Praising", "Feel Jah", "Suffer the Right", and "Fourth Dimension", while Don Carlos' soothing sound comes to full expression in "Suffer the Right", "Wish Them Well", and the title track "We Free Again". This album has great songs, deep riddims, spiritual lyrics, tight backing harmonies, and inspiring solo's, but be warned... it can take some time before this collection of tunes has grown on you to appreciate them to the max.