Album review
We Need Love
Kashief Lindo
Jet Star/VP Records-Walboomers Music
12 - 04 - 2000

Tracking list

  1. Intro
  2. Give Me Strength
  3. Gold Trap
  4. While We're Apart
  5. No Single Life
  6. I Wouldn't Lie
  7. Love Is All It Takes / Interlude
  8. We Need Love
  9. Winner
  10. Sing On
  11. Dreamer
  12. How Can I
  13. Traveling
  14. Long Night
  15. I Wanna Be Loved
  16. Unity / Interlude
  17. All About Unity
  18. A Love Like Yours
  19. Let Me Give You Love
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 5

Kashief Lindo started out as a child star, operating out of his father's studios in Miami. During his career he has developed from a poppy child star to a mature reggae personality who uses influences from R&B, Soul and Hip Hop to brighten up his recordings.
'We Need Love' is a highly enjoyable and romantic album from this vocalist who mostly covers themes of roses and love letters. There are also some cultural tunes included on the album and he sounds convincing on the romantic tunes as well as on the cultural tunes.
The album opens with a cover of Cat Stevens' 'Wild World', followed by an original tune called "Gold Trap". "While We're Apart" uses the Treasure Isle tune 'The Same Song' and on "No Single Life" he rides the 'M16' riddim. There's problably not one album nowadays that doesn't include a version of the 'Things And Time' riddim. Kashief performs a fine version here entitled "I Wouldn't Lie". The title track is a heartfelt ballad, but the tempo goes up in the next tune - "Winner".
"Dreamer" is a R&B combination tune alongside rapper Rushrain, across the 'Tempo' riddim. Dennis Brown's 'Wolf And Leopards' forms the basis for "Traveling", whilst the closing track "Let Me Give You Love" is a soulful version of the Studio One smash hit 'Me And You' by Carlton And His Shoes.
Musicians on board include Sly and Robbie, Karl Pitterson, Kashief Lindo, Mafia and Fluxy, Robbie Lyn, Franklin Waul and Willie Lindo. All tracks were recorded and mixed at the HeavyBeat Recording Studio in Miami, Florida.

Teacher & Mr. T.