Album review
What A System
Clinton Fearon & Boogie Brown Band
Kool Yu Foot

Tracking list

    Disc 1

  1. Rock Your Bones
  2. What A System
  3. Raised In The Jungle
  4. Chatty Chatty Mouth
  5. Rocky Road
  6. One Destiny
  7. Bucky Massa
  8. Another Day
  9. Feelin'
  10. Sing Your Song
  11. We Shall Overcome
  12. Never Get Burn

    Disc 2

  13. Rock Your Dub
  14. What A Dub
  15. Raised In The Dub
  16. Chatty Dub
  17. Dub Road
  18. Dub Massa
  19. One Dub
  20. Another Dub
  21. Dub Feelin'
  22. Dub Your Song
  23. We Shall Overdub
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 3/4 Production : 3/4 Sound quality : 4/5 Sleeve : 4

Former vocalist and bass player for the renowned group The Gladiators, Clinton Fearon, relocated to Seattle in the 80's where he became one of the founding members of The Defenders. In 1990 he released his first compilation 'Feel The Spirit'. Some three years later Fearon formed his own group, Boogie Brown Band and in 1995 the band released their debut set 'Disturb The Devil'. In 1997 their second album Mystic Whisper received rave reviews all over the world.
What A System is the band's recent release and it contains an impressive selection of roots riddims and conscious lyrics. Clinton Fearon has revived a short-lived but much loved late 70's tradition in reggae, the double album of vocal tracks and their respective dubs. He explains : "Dub's been going on for awhile, thirty years to be exact, a lot of people are always asking if I have dubs of our first two Boogie Brown albums. So whether people love vocals or dub or love both, they will get their heart's desire."
The title of the album was inspired by his visit to Jamaica in 1997 , where he obeserved the situation and saw how the drugs had taken over : "It all boils down to the system, so many of us ridicule one another, then goes around saying that we are serving God and how much we are rasta, how spiritual we are and so on, not realizing how big a part of the system we have become."
The twelve vocal tracks on the first cd concentrate of themes such as politics, religion and social commentary. Rocky Bones is a remake of an earlier Defenders tune and tells you to "tel them we bring them music to rock their bones." The impressive title track What A System is a strong political tune, whilst Raised In The Jungle takes the listener back to Clinton's roots.."I'll never forget where I'm coming from."
Chatty Chatty Mouth is a perfect updated version of one of The Gladiator's strongest tracks from the 70's. Rocky Road and Another Day both are songs of hope and inspiration, telling us not give up, although "it's a humpy dumpy rocky road, rain or sunshine on life's rocky road."
The album features three gospel tunes, We Shall Overcome, Sing Your Song and Never Get Burn. He always wanted to do a gospel album and these three songs mirror the gospel influence of Clinton's early years. Never Get Burn is an emotional freedom song, an acoustical gem which was written 23 years ago. The rootsy dub album was mixed by the master of controls, Hopeton 'Scientist' Brown.
With What A System Clinton Fearon and his band have delivered another proof of their strength and skills.
A this moment Clinton Fearon is recovering from a serious illness and we wish him all the best.

Teacher & Mr. T.