White Mice
Intelitec / Basic Replay - Indigo
October 6, 2006

Track list
  1. It's A Shame Version
  2. Try A Thing Version
  3. Youths Of Today Version
  4. Roots Music Version
  5. Youth Fighter Version
  6. Step By Step Version
  7. Tallawah Version
  8. Consciousness Version
  9. Mr. Bossman Version
  10. Love Mom & Dad Version
  11. School Days Version
  12. I Said No Version
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 5 Backing : 5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3/4
If you haven't yet read the review of Allen Crichton a.k.a. White Mice's "White Mice", on which the excellent original vocal tunes appear, I must urge you to do so. Then return here, and find me assuring you, that while I championed the riddims several times in that review, these versions are even better, with all room for the continuous bass roll, the drum patterns, snatches of White Mice's vocals, these early digital riddims are presented in a form that has probably only been done better before by King Tubby's with the assistance of Peego a.k.a. Peggo and Fatman, but nothing else rivals this interpretation of dubbing up early digital riddims. Pure magic, this is dub, this is dancehall, this is reggae history provided by Basic Channel subsidiary