Album review
Who's Foolin' Who
Zamani Records

Tracking list

  1. Hear my cry
  2. Good man
  3. Columbus myth
  4. Babylon slavery
  5. Revolution time
  6. Long live Grenada
  7. Man with action
  8. Sick minded people
  9. African blues
  10. Jacqueline
  11. Posses
  12. Sodom and Gomorrah
  13. Easy Mr. Babylon
  14. Why all this fussin
  15. Who's inferior
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 3/4 Backing : 3/4 Production : 3/4 Sound quality : 4/5 Sleeve : 3

Born on the beautiful "Isle of Spice", Grenada, Rashani started writing reggae tunes at the tender age of ten. He was heavily influenced by the likes of Peter Tosh, Bob Marley, Gregory Isaacs and Burning Spear. In the 80s he relocated to Texas and has worked with several artists such as Half Pint and U Roy.
His latest outing -on the Zamani Records imprint- is entitled Who's Foolin' Who ?. All songs were written and produced by Rashani. The album is in memory of the many African people who died in "The Black Holocaust", that was carried out over the years by the mentally sick, against people of color in the four corners of the earth.
The album kicks off with the mid tempo tune Hear my cry in which the singer calls upon Jah to guide and protect him from the hands of the wicked. The next track -Good man- is an heartfelt sufferers tune, followed by Columbus myth dealing with the historical lies about Christopher Columbus. One of the outstanding tracks on the album is Revolution time, urging for more militancy and "revolution now !".
A very tasty song is Rashani's tribute to his native island Grenada Long live Grenada. The anthemic African blues is another highlight, next to the fast paced Easy Mr. babylon and Why all this fussin, the latter remniscent to the music 'Culture' used to produce in the 70s.
Although not every track is outstanding, Rashani has delivered a powerful and righteous album, certainly worth while checking out.

Teacher & Mr. T.