Album review
Wondrous Works
Earl Sixteen
Gussie P Records

Tracking list

  1. Foot Of The Mountain
  2. Trample Babylon
  3. Menelik
  4. Children Of The Emperor
  5. Wondrous Works
  6. Jah Jah Love I
  7. Rastafari's Call
  8. Milk And Honey
  9. Survivors
  10. Quality Time
  11. Thinking About Your Love
  12. Do It To Me
  13. I'm Still Waiting
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4/5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4

In the first half of the seventies Earl Sixteen (real name Earl Daley) made his entrance in music business after winning some local talent shows. In 1975 he recorded the self-penned legendary "Malcolm X" tune for producer Joe Gibbs, later covered by the late great Dennis Brown. Then Boris Gardiner introduced him to Lee Perry who recorded for tracks with Earl Sixteen before he met Earl Morgan of the Heptones, the producer of Earl's debut album "Singing Star". Earl Sixteen recorded a collection of notable material like for example his still very popular "Love Is A Feeling" with producers Lee Perry, Mikey Dread, Augustus Pablo, Linval Thompson, Coxsone Dodd and others. Since 1988 Earl Sixteen lives in England where he has voiced for various UK producers with varying degrees of success.
Last year Earl Sixteen delivered a brand new album titled "Wondrous Works", the result of this classic roots vocalist teaming up with London based producer Gussie P. Earl Sixteen shows his real love for the roots in his music on this fine mixture of originals and covers. Backed by such great players of instruments as Leroy Mafia (bass & keyboards), Dave Fluxy (drums), Sly Dunbar (drums), Gussie P (drums & keyboards), Henry "Buttons" Tenue (trombone), Winston Rose (Saxaphone), Robbie Valentine (guitar) and Nereus Joseph (guitar) the distinctive voice of Earl Sixteen shines on a selection of well played riddims, many familiar from Gussie P's dub album "Conqueroaring Lion Dub". The album opens with a solid cover of Dennis Brown's "Foot Of The Mountain", which surfaced briefly as a 7" single back in the spring of 2001. Also featured on this set is an awesome (extended) rendition of Albert Malawi's obscure but truly brilliant roots anthem "Children Of The Emperor" as well as a great version of Hugh Mundell's Rastafari's Call". More "cover" niceness can be experienced while listening to Earl Sixteen's interpretations of In Crowd's "Milk & Honey" and Bob Marley's "I'm Still Waiting". However don't overlook Earl's writing skills! They come to full expression in his own solid to excellent compositions "Trample Babylon", "Menelik", "Survivors" and the outstanding 12" title track "Wondrous Works"... a prayer to Jah for our life itself and the wonders of this world we live in.

Teacher & Mr. T.