Album review
Words Of Truth
VP Records-Walboomers Music

Tracking list - Disc 1

  1. Lift Mine Eyes
  2. Enemies Are Confounded
  3. Think Positive
  4. Love, Love
  5. Every Move That I Make
  6. Attack
  7. Words Of Truth
  8. Powers Of The Earth
  9. Them No Good
  10. Love Ah Di Way
  11. Uplift Your Standard
  12. Praise
  13. Step Up
  14. Gimme Love
Tracking list - Disc 2

Live At Aston Villa Leisure Centre, Birmingham U.K.

  1. Praise Ye Jah
  2. One Away
  3. Holding Firm
  4. Ancient Memories
  5. Words Of Divine
  6. Dem Ah Wonder
  7. Guide Over Us
  8. Make Dem Secure
  9. Babylon Ah Listen
  10. Humble Thought
  11. Black Woman And Child
  12. Give Dem A Ride
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4

Xterminator producer Phillip "Fatis" Burrell seems to be a person who sticks to his release policy... Last year he almost simultaneously unleashed the Sizzla albums "Kalonji" and "Royal Son Of Ethiopia" and now he does the very same with two new albums from this Bobo chanter. Comparing the tracklistings one can only conclude that Sizzla maintains his status of being a high prolific artist as - apart from the current hit single "Attack" - there's no crossover between the two albums. And what's more, despite the huge amount of tunes this youth has recorded in a short period of time the quality standard maintains mostly high. On Sizzla's new albums Fatis has turned to some new musicians including Shaen Darson, Victan "Teethimus" Edmunds", Earl "Chinna" Smith and "Beezie" Coleman. Furthermore the producer has left out the funky type riddims from the last couple of sets - with the exception of the "Gimme Love" track - and has gone back to the roots and hardcore ragga. No wrong move at all as Sizzla's militant lyrics simply work better with those type of riddims.
Disc one contains a scorching selection of new Sizzla tracks with standouts like the strong opener "Lift Mine Eyes", the awesome former single "Enemies Are Confounded", "Think Positive", the impressive "Every Move That A Made", the super title track "Words Of Truth" and "Love Ah Di Way". The "free bonus CD" features a registration of Sizzla's live performance at the Aston Villa Leisure Centre in Birmingham, U.K.. Sizzla is captured in fine form attacking classic material such as "Praise Ye Jah", "Holding Firm", "One Away", "Babylon Ah Listen", "Give Dem A Ride" and his anthem "Black Woman And Child". Also of interest is the inclusion of "Humble Thought", which often appears as a dubplate special, but - to our knowledge - was never released on single or album. With this "Words Of Truth" album Sizzla unmistakably confirms that he is still a force to reckon with when it comes to modern roots reggae.

Teacher & Mr. T.