Album review
World War III
Mikey Dread
Dread At The Controls

Tracking list

  1. The Jumping Master
  2. Break Down The Walls
  3. Jah Jah (Love In The Morning)
  4. Israel (12 Tribe) Stylee (Extended Play)
  5. Money Dread
  6. Mental Slavery
  7. Skin Head Skank
  8. Losers Weepers, Finders Keepers
  9. World War III (Extended Play)
  10. Warrior Style
  11. DATC Masterpiece
  12. Break Down The Dub
  13. Seekers Dub
  14. Jamaican Dub
  15. Flat Fee Dub
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4

Port Antonio born rastaman Michael Campbell better known as Mikey Dread, delivered his earliest contribution to the reggae business towards the end of the seventies when he started to host his popular four-hour radio show "Dread At The Controls" on JBC, Jamaican Broadcasting Corporation. It was the first reggae radio show on the Island and the rootsiest Jamaica had ever heard ! Mikey became a massive hero in Jamaica and his success enabled him to record some impressive tunes for Lee Perry and Sonia Pottinger. After the JBC bosses and the island's establishment figures had forced him to resign from his programme in 1979 he turned his full attention to recording and launched his own D.A.T.C. label. With fresh-sounding production work Mikey "Dread" Campbell became part of a group of young and talented producers who made their mark in the late seventies. Mikey Dread is an exceptional, consistently fascinating and above all very versatile figure in reggae music as he is radio deejay, dub engineer, record producer, recording artist, toaster, singer and songwriter to name a few of his crafts. After nearly two decades of dealing with record companies - which actually turned out to be a bad experience - Mikey Dread has reactivated his Dread At The Controls (DATC) label in order to take matters into his own hands again. It has led to the reissue of Mikey Dread's "World War III", which can be regarded as one of his best vocal albums. From start to finish we're treated to well produced dancehall roots reggae from around 1980. It was the period in which the weighty productions of producers such as the late Henry "Junjo" Lawes, Errol Mais, Linval Thompson and Jah Thomas attracted notable attention. However, it was Mikey Dread who produced some of the heaviest sounds as once again can be experienced while playing the tracks included on this cd. "World War III" features Mikey's unique roots delivery, the voices of youthman singers Edi Fitzroy and Earl Sixteen, the deep baritone of Watty Burnett from the mighty Congos, dub effects galore mixed by a young Scientist at King Tubby's and original, heavyweight riddims laid by the Roots Radics band comprising Errol "Flabba" Holt, the late Eric "Bingy Bunny" Lamont, Lincoln "Style" Scott, Noel "Sowell" Bailey and Anthony "Steely" Nelson. Then the Roots Radics band were new to business and still had to establish their name. Here one can fully witness that they were playing the riddims more harder than how other musicians at that time were playing. All tracks are solid to excellent deliveries with "Break Down The Walls", "Money Dread", "Mental Slavery" and "Warrior Stylee" being real killers. Highly recommended classic stuff!!

Note : Included are few bonus dub tracks to differentiate this cd from previous releases by third party companies.

Teacher & Mr. T.

Buy the CD