Wrongtom Meets Deemas J In East London
Wrongtom & Deemas J
Tru Thoughts
October 7, 2012

Track list
  1. Old Time Stylee
  2. Jump Move Rock
  3. Riot Ting
  4. South London Dubplate
  5. At The Dancehall
  6. Raspootin
  7. Superteng
  8. Wa Do Dance feat. Ammoye
  9. Crime Times
  10. Turn It Up
  11. Late Night Dance
  12. Suzy Hangs Out
  13. East London
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 5 Backing : 4 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4
We usually abide by the rule, "Never judge a book by the cover". Went against the grain on this one. "Wrongtom Meets Deemas J in East London" boasts the brilliant artistry of Tony McDermott, whose legendary work has graced countless Reggae albums for over three decades. There was a question of what lay below this cover and the answer is resounding brilliance from seasoned producer Wrongtom and accomplished MC Deemas J.

Wrongtom (Tom Robinson) and Deemas J have been fixtures in London's music scene since the 1980's. They linked together initially in the mid 90's when Deemas J was an MC for underground Jungle radio station "Scandal FM" and Wrongtom was hitting the decks and making a name for himself. Before long, they formed an Acid Jazz band and enjoyed some success. Around the turn of the millenium, they went seperate ways in a musical manner. Wrongtom dabbled in indie Pop; working with "Hard-Fi", which resulted in international exposure and recognition. Soon after, he started the Reggae/Dub collective, "Stoneleigh Mountain Records", allowing him work with Trojan and Pama International Records. In 2010, he worked with the massive Roots Manuva on "Wrongtom Meets Roots Manuva"; an absolute hit record. Consequently, Deemas J was working with the legendary Fatman and Godfather Sound System and dabbled in Drum/Bass, Garage, Jungle, Reggae and House style to varying degrees of success. He heavily influenced the hard hitting Dizzee Rascal with his surefya delivery. Wrongtom and Deemas J reunited again with individual and collective success intact.

This collaboration is a culmination of their experiences to wicked effect. The tracks were laid down in the wake of London's 2011 rioting and the buzz of this year's Summer Olympics; the sense of urgency evident in the approach fe real! Wrongtom handled all the production and the bulk of the riddims. Able assistance was provided by the crucial horn section of Jon Gilles, Paul Jordanous and Richard Underhill. Great drums were juggled by Ray Rotello on certain tracks. "Old Time Stylee" jumps out of the gate inna tribute fashion. Deemas J pays homage to the late Smiley Culture, backed by some crispy horns and basswork. Sounds like a Fashion release from the heyday. "Jump Move Rock" is an infectious Digi bubbler with Deemas proving that he is one of the fastest "chatters" in the biz. Reminscent of early "Unity Sounds" work combined with vintage Pato Banton vocalisms; guarenteed to make you jump up and move. "Riot Ting" is not a quiet thing! This is an urgent atmosphere with reality lyrics and prominent riddim. Deemas possesses many approaches; he singjays here and convincingly throws down some U Roy snippets-wicked. "South London Dubplate" is top ranking! A live intro gives way to Deemas J "original" delivery and Wrongtom laying down a Jammyesque riddim-wow. "At The Dancehall" is presented in a Drum/Bass style that works. What really stands out is the rapid fire delivery. The legendary Daddy Freddy gets a run for lyrics here; with Deemas J throwing faster than a speeding bullet. Wrongtom and Deemas J come nicely on "Raspootin". An organic riddim blends perfectly with Deemas J depicting the sad tale of Rasputin.

"Wa Do Dance" is a deadly combination of Deemas J and guest MC Ammoye. She expertly transforms Eek-a-Mouse's anthem,"Wa Do Dem" into something original and wild. Deemas J does a spot on U Roy style and Wrongtom hits the decks proper. "Crime Times" is a Digi bubbler; boasting crisp lyrics and riddim. "Turn It Up" is on par with the quality that Mungo's Hi-Fi is putting out. A thoroughly thumping riddim that is well mixed and a vocal approach that is very intriquing. Big things a gwan for Deemas J if he continues to step to the mic like this. Wrongtom and Deemas J roll back the years to the dawn of the dancehall era with "Late Night Dance". This track sounds like U Brown and Radics tearin' it up! "Suzy Hangs Out" showcases the MC's ability to sing and he takes total control of the simple yet crucial riddim. The closer, "East London" pays homage to Dub poet Linton Kwesi Johnson. Searing commentary over an Acid Jazz tinged Rocker; this one hits a home run.

"Wrongtom Meets Deemas J In East London" is an ital suprise. Nuff accolades to these talents. Every track is a tribute of sorts but remains fresh and original all the while. Despite working in other music circles, these two decided to go back to their roots and that was a wise move. This is the second release in a Wrongtom series, but first in originality. This release is one that beckons repeated listening and retains a fresh and urgent appeal. One of the more pleasant suprises of 2012; this one needs to be in your collection. Go deh.