Album review
Collectors Series ~ Wayne Wonder
Wayne Wonder
Heartbeat Europe

Tracking list

  1. Hold On
  2. Die Without You
  3. Anything For You
  4. All This Time
  5. Bonafide Love (featuring Buju Banton)
  6. Saddest Day
  7. Eternal Flame
  8. One Night
  9. Emptiness
  10. Do You
  11. Commitment (featuring Buju Banton)
  12. Searching (featuring Buju Banton)
  13. Rumors
  14. Loving Excess (featuring Don Yute)
  15. Fast Car
  16. What You Gonna Do (featuring Buju Banton)
  17. Still Say Yes
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 4/5 Sleeve : 3/4

Wayne Wonder emerged in the late eighties as a fine dancehall singer with a golden voice. He recorded for several top producers on the island, but got the best response when he teamed up with producer Donovan Germain to record a string of wonderful tunes, which finally made him one of Jamaica's leading ladies' men. Furthermore he cut some well received 'combination' tunes with Buju Banton, Tony Rebel and Terry Ganzie.
This collection gathers 17 tunes, produced by household names such as Donovan Germain, David Kelly, Sly and Robbie, Steely and Clevie, Soljie and last but not least Bobby 'Digital' Dixon. Almost every tune covers the themes of love and emotion, with the exception of Rumors, a fine track across the Swing Easy riddim. The same riddim returns in What You Gonna Do, a combination style tune with deejay Buju Banton.
Musicians on board include Sly & Robbie, Dave Kelly, the Firehouse Crew, Dean Fraser, Robbie Lyn and Danny Browne. All tracks were recorded and mixed at Penthouse Recording Studio and the Digital B Studio.
Most of the tracks collected here were among his greatest hits from the past ten years, and any Wayne Wonder fan will love this collection. On the other hand, if you're not familiar with this artist, this is your chance to check him out !

Teacher & Mr. T.