Album review
Wild West Indian
Reggae Cowboys
Dixiefrog Records
18 - 01 - 2001

Tracking list

  1. Reggae Rodeo
  2. Searchin' For De Outlaw
  3. We Ah Come Down
  4. Tell The Truth
  5. Wild West Indian
  6. Road Show
  7. Do It To Debt
  8. Because Of The Gun
  9. Cowboy Riddim'
  10. De Agenda
  11. Geronimo
  12. Lighten Up
  13. Hotel California
  14. Hang 'Em High
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 3/4 Backing : 3/4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 5

The story of the Reggae Cowboys starts in 1993 when Bird "Stone Ranger" Bellony and Aljernon Delano "Click Masta Sync" Abess joined forces in Toronto, Canada. When they formed a quintet with Roy "Gully" Clarke, Henderson King and Iain Green the Reggae Cowboys were born. Although a Canadian band the five members have their roots in the Caribbean as they originate from Jamaica, Dominica and Antigua. Reggae Cowboys' name came from their fascination with the role of African-Americans in settling the West in the 1800's where one in seven cowboys was black.
Their latest album incorporates elements from country and western, reggae, rock and even some jazz influences are found here. Just like their first album 'Tell The Truth' the themes concentrate upon American history and specially highlights the role of the black cowboy. You either love or hate the music on the album. Most reggae purists will not be charmed by this album, but I think one should always keep the mind and ears open for artists who sincerely try to inject our favorite music with elements from other music styles. The musical qualities of the band are beyond doubt and if you're blessd with an open mind do check out 'Wild West Indian'.

Teacher & Mr. T.