Album review
X Uhuru
Michael Rose & Sly and Robbie
Tabou 1 / Taxi
27 - 06 - 1999

Tracking list

  1. One A We
  2. Coke Is A Joke
  3. Monkey Business
  4. Bad Boy
  5. Yush (Dub Master)
  6. Beggar
  7. Come Home
  8. Marcus Garvey
  9. Visit Them
  10. African Girl
  11. New York
  12. Car Wars (Ambient)
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4/5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3/4

Michael "Mykal" Rose was born and raised in the Waterhouse district of Kingston JA. He cut a handful of promising singles before he was recruited as a member of Black Uhuru. From it's start up till now Black Uhuru has been performing and recording in quite some different line-ups. It was the third line-up of Black Uhuru, consisting of Michael Rose, Ducky Simpson and Puma Jones accompanied by Sly Dunbar & Robbie Shakespeare as musicians and producers, that finally achieved the breakthrough to a wider audience. Don Carlos, Errol Nelson, Garth Dennis and Junior Reid were or still are part of Black Uhuru. Rose led the group to receive the first Grammy Award for a reggae group before he left Black Uhuru to pursue his solo career. In the nineties he has issued a number of superb singles and some excellent solo albums. Throughout the years Michael Rose has proven to be a stronghold and defining force in reggae music.
In the early nineties he once again teamed up with Sly and Robbie which resulted in the release of an album called "Sly & Robbie Presents Mykall Rose : The Taxi Sessions", containing cuts previously released on 7" and 12". Michael Rose tells in an interview in The Beat (1995) that its "a four-year old album with Sly & Robbie". Now this album has been released by Tabou 1 on compact disc and its a treat ! It contains several hitsingles such as Monkey Business, which is one of the best anti-drugs songs ever released, Bad Boy and One A We. There are further gems aplenty here; another anti-drugs anthem entitled Coke Is No Joke, the masterfully arranged tracks Beggar and African Girl and the mesmerizing Marcus Garvey. The riddim twins have laid laid down some of their best riddims, graced by x-amount of versatility and innovation and Michael Rose's vocal delivery is a masterful as usual. His capturevating vocals sets the listener in a hypnotic trance cutting real deep. As always he concentrates on reality themes on this modern day album. Wicked all the way !!

More Michal Rose reviews :
Dance Wicked
Dub Wicked
Party In Session - Live
Selassie I Showcase

Teacher & Mr. T.