Album review
Yabby The You Man
Yabby You
Peacemaker Records

Tracking list

  1. Jah Rule
  2. Judgement Time
  3. Shots Inna Dancehall
  4. My Forefathers
  5. Deep In My Soul
  6. Prayer To Jah
  7. Hey You
  8. Who's Gunna Love Me
  9. Mary Lou
  10. Carry Me Mango
  11. My Little Children featuring Jennifer Lara & Shuggy Milligan
  12. I Don't Mind What They Say
  13. I Come Not
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 3/4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4

Throughout the seventies singer/producer Vivian Jackson aka Yabby You recorded a series of remarkable and highly acclaimed roots classics, which makes him one of the key figures in the history of Jamaican music. In the second half of the seventies he acquired cult status outside the Island and his name became synonymous with reggae music of particular deep, spiritual nature. However, in the eighties health problems forced him to retreat from music business. Although he delivered some new productions and reissued a lot of his older material in the first half of the nineties, it was actually the 1995 released "Yabby The You Man" album that marked this reggae vets' comeback. It is Yabby You's first new vocal album in ten years.
Accompanied by such renown musicians like Sly & Robbie, Earl "Chinna" Smith, Horsemouth Wallace, Winston Wright, Christopher Meredith, Vin Gordon, Deadly Headly and Lasille Beckford, and the harmony vocals of Barry Heptone and the Tamlins, this reggae pioneer delivers a fine album. The 13 track set includes the usual themes in which Yabby You expresses his thoughts regarding roots & culture, everyday life and belief. Best tracks are "My Forefathers", "Deep In My Soul", "Prayer To Jah" and "My Little Children".

Teacher & Mr. T.