Album review
You Are
Jody G Productions
20 - 01 - 2001

Tracking list

  1. You Are
  2. Rice Can't Swell
  3. Two Roads Before You
  4. Practice What You Preach
  5. Love Is Shining
  6. Jah Is My Light
  7. Give Me The Thrills
  8. Babylon
  9. Jah Move
  10. Job Seeking
  11. Streets Of Happiness
  12. Give Us The Kings
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 5 Sound quality : 4 Sleeve : 3

Born in the parish of Clarendon in southern Jamaica, singer Pacey aka Wallen Ricketts is a contemporary of Everton Blender with whom he, and also Curtis Smith, formed a teenage group called Everton & The Blenders. The group split up, but due to his life-long friendship with Everton Blender Pacey did the backing vocals on Blender's first release entitled "Bah Bah Black Sheep". However, Pacey also wanted to establish his name and performed at various dancehalls and events throughout Jamaica. Then he moved to the north coast of the Island, where he mainly performed in hotels and tourist resorts in Ocho Rios and along Jamaica's north coast. In 1995 he made his appearance at Sunsplash, and later that year at Sumfest in Montego Bay. In 1998 he performed at a festival in England and in Denver, Colorado while visiting the U.S.A., which he revisited in 1999.
Since July 1999 Pacey is based in Germany where he has been performing at various city festivals and clubs.
"You Are" is Pacey's debut album which he recorded for producer Barry O'Hare at Grove Music, Ocho Rios, Jamaica. Barry O'Hare, not only being a producer and renown mixing engineer but also a gifted multi-instrumentalist, has arranged all tracks. Furthermore he has played keyboards (and drums on two tracks) alongside drummer Shawn Dawson. Seven tracks incorporate the lead guitar of Ian "Beezy" Coleman, actually Pacey's cousin and guitarist for Ziggy Marley's Melody Makers. Backing vocals are provided by Carol "Passion" Nelson and Lesline Kidd. With the exception of the title track You Are" and "Practice What You Preach" (not the Barry White tune!) all tracks are written by Pacey himself.
This album can be regarded as a decent first effort delivered by a fine singer who has a mature vocal style of his own. On "You Are" one finds mainly modern roots reggae music although Pacey occasionally shows that he is equally at home with message tunes and love songs as can be witnessed while spinning "Give Me The Thrills", one of the best lovers tunes to be found on this CD. When it comes to roots 'n' culture the listener is treated to some real bright sparks like for example "Two Roads Before You", "Jah Is My Light" and "Babylon".
All in all Pacey has delivered an enjoyable first album, especially for those who like to listen to well crafted tunes delivered over fresh, live played riddims.

Teacher & Mr. T.