Album review
Your Love
Glen Washington
VP Records - Walboomers Music
21 - 04 - 2001

Tracking list

  1. Burning Fire
  2. Heaven In Your Eyes
  3. Movin' On
  4. We Should Be Together
  5. Roots Man
  6. Power Of Love
  7. Jah Will Be There
  8. Give Thanks & Praise
  9. I Love You
  10. Jah On My Mind
  11. Guilty
  12. Chant Them Down
  13. Because Love
  14. Jah Children
  15. If You Know
  16. Memories
  17. We Need Love
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3/4

Glen Washington is one of those countless reggae artists who enjoyed a brief moment of success and then vanished into obscurity. He topped the charts with the single 'Rockers Nu Crackers' for producer Joe Gibbs in the late 70s. His history is one of a musician who has worked his way up through the ranks as a drummer and background vocalist. He resurfaced some years back with the excellent 'Brother To Brother' for Coxsone Dodd. With his distinctive and soulful voice he easily voices over some classic Studio One riddims. A stream of noteworthy albums followed and his latest outing is the album 'Your Love', produced by Lloyd & Michelle Campbell and Jason Sterling. The album is more or less a duplicate of the 'Number One Girl' from some time ago. He uses some strong Studio One, Bunny Lee, Bob Marley and Treasure Isle riddims and he easily delivers fitting versions across these riddims. Strongest tunes here are Movin' On across the popular "Engine 54" riddim, Give Thanks And Praise which licks the "Humanity" riddim and Jah Will Be There which is across the "Nice Time" riddim. Overviewing the album we have to draw the conclusion that there are no weak tunes here, and that the album is professionally produced, but on the other hand we can't deny that we get the feeling of having heard it all once before. Gradually his style and approach loses some of its power and inspiration and a new producer might add that extra touch that we miss right now.

Teacher & Mr. T.