Album review
Youthman Veteran
Jah Warrior

Tracking list

  1. Hungry
  2. Hungry Dub
  3. No Racial War
  4. No Racial Dub
  5. A Psalm A Day
  6. A Dub A Day
  7. Drunken Junkies
  8. Strung Out On Dub
  9. Rejoice
  10. Rejoice In Dub
  11. Youthman Veteran
  12. Veteran Dub
  13. The Works
  14. Dubwise Works
  15. Poverty
  16. Poverty Dubwise
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4

After having unleashed "Showcase" albums from reggae vets Peter Broggs, Prince Allah and - "3 The Roots Way" - Ranking Joe, U Brown and Trinity, London-based Jah Warrior Records does it once again with the release of a brandnew Dillinger album entitled "Youthman Veteran". Dillinger - real name Lester Bullock - reached international star status in thesecond half of the seventies when he scored a major (crossover) hit with "Cocaine In My Brain". Influenced by the pioneers of the microphone like U Roy, I Roy and Big Youth, Dilinger began his career alongside Dennis Alcapone on El Paso sound system in the early seventies. He made his first record called "Bring the Kutchie Come" for Lee Scratch Perry and from then recorded for Phil Pratt, Studio One, Channel One, Joe Gibbs, Augustus Pablo, Bunny Lee, Yabby You, Niney the Observer and many other Jamaican producers. Although taken by the popularity of Rasta which was sweeping the youth of Jamaica then, Dillinger never stuck to just that one style, instead earning himself a reputation for dealing with any subject matter in a variety of styles, serious, humorous, talking or singing. As already stated above, the record which truly launched him into the spotlight was "Cocaine In My Brain," recorded for the Hookim Brothers at Channel One in 1976. Dillinger has also turned his hand to production, releasing a string of records including "5 Man Army", featuring the combined talents of himself with Trinity, Al Campbell, Wayne Wade and Junior Tamlin, "3 The Hard Way" with himself, Al Campbell & Trinity, "Yo Yo" by Johnny Osborne, his own "Cup A Tea", and "Jah Jah Can't Help You" by George Nooks. Following a break from the music business for much of the nineties, Dillinger once again came to public attention in the year 2000 as part of the Blood and Fire sound system tour, travelling to America in the spring and various UK and European dates in the summer.
Supported by Steve Mosco (bass, piano, organ, keyboards), Dougie Wardrop (drums), Hughie Izachaar (guitar), Jonah Dan (bongos) and the Crispy Horns Section (Chris Petter, Dave Hake and Richard Doswell), and under the watchful guidance of producer Steve "Jah Warrior" Mosco", Dillinger has recorded eight deep roots & culture tunes at Conscious Sounds studio in London UK. Those familiar with the Jah Warrior sound know what they can expect.. well executed UK roots and dub driven by heavyweight basslines. On the vocal tracks one can capture Dillinger in good shape. Seemingly effortless switching from talking to deejay-ing to singing this veteran proves that he's still capable of voicing some notable tunes. Undisputed highlight is the impressive chant "A Psalm A Day" and its wicked dub version, but also tracks like "No Racial War", "Rejoice", "Poverty" and the title track "Youthman Veteran" are well worth hearing. And don't forget to check the dub versions to the vocal tracks as you are treated to some really satisfying deep rootical dubs.
All in all Dillinger's "Youthman Veteran" can be regarded as another fine rootical release from the esteemed Jah Warrior. Recommended for any roots/dub session!!

Teacher & Mr. T.