Album review
Youth Quake
Beenie Man
Artists Only! Records

Tracking list

  1. Selassie
  2. Bon Mi Fi Di Truth (Remix)
  3. Cross Di Bridge
  4. Reggae Music (featuring Mega Banton & Admiral Tibett)
  5. Badder Than Di Rest
  6. Bed A Roses
  7. Study Me
  8. Praise Him
  9. Leave Dem (featuring Yellowman)
  10. Tiger Ride Inna Town
  11. Cool Yu Toe
  12. Mek Use A Life
  13. Unu Fi Follow We
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4

Beenie Man (real name Moses Davis) voiced his first record in 1980 at the tender age of eight and had already released an album when he was only eleven years old. At the end of the eighties he teamed up with Shocking Vibes' Patrick Roberts, which brought him dancehall success. However, his real breakthrough came in 1994 and led to recording tunes for almost every top producer in Jamaica. More than two decades after he recorded his first tune "His Royal Highness of Dancehall", Beenie Man, still holds the top position of the reggae dancehall class. He's one of the biggest and most successful Jamaican stars on the Island as well as abroad, probably best expressed by the fact that his "Art & Life" album (released by Virgin Records) was certified Gold, won the Grammy for "Reggae Album of the Year", and contained many hit singles. Now Artists Only! Records has unleashed the "Youth Quake" album. The set features a collection of tunes that were recorded prior to Beenie Man's agreement with Virgin. In contrary to "Art & Life" - which featured a variety of musical styles ranging from Jamaican Dancehall to Hip-Hop to R&B to Latin in order to reach a broader audience and to achieve crossover success - this "Youth Quake" album is one for the reggae dancehall massive. All thirteen tunes are produced by the legendary Maurice "Jack Scorpio" Johnson (in association with Pete Foster), who treats the listener to some very entertaining classic dancehall riddims like for example utilized in the awesome cultural piece "Selassie", the wicked "Praise Him", the solid "Tiger Ride Inna Town" and the bubblin' "Cool Yu Toe". Tracks 12 and 13 were recorded when Beenie Man was in his early teens and are nice bonus tracks on this enjoyable set.

Teacher & Mr. T.