Various artists album review
200 % Dynamite
Soul Jazz Records
15 - 05 - 1999

Tracking list

  1. Augustus Pablo - Rockers Rock
  2. K.C. White - No No No
  3. Tenor Saw - Ring The Alarm
  4. Tommy McCook - Heatwave
  5. U Roy & Hopeton Lewis - Tom Drunk
  6. Toots & The Maytals - Funky Kingston
  7. Prince Buster - Sit And Wonder
  8. Jackie Mittoo - Earthquake
  9. Hopeton Lewis - Sounds & Pressure
  10. Byron Lee - Hot Reggae
  11. John Holt - I'm The One To Blame
  12. The Skatalites - Herb Man Dub
  13. Johnny Osbourne & The Sensations - Bewitched
  14. Dawn Penn - Are You There
  15. The Abyssinians (featuring Tommy McCook) - Mandela
  16. Boris Gardiner - Melting Pot
  17. The Upsetters - Live Injection
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 4 Sleeve : 5

200 % Dynamite is the follow up to the splendid 100 % Dynamite album compiled by the crew of Soul Jazz Records, based in north London. The first set mainly contained Studio One productions, but this set collects well known and lesser known soul/jazz/funk flavored productions from several Jamaican producers.
It contains such highlights as Tommy McCook's sax cut to the Abyssinians 'Satta' entitled Mandela, Tenor Saw's unforgettable digital rendition of the Stalag riddim, Ring The Alarm, the combination U Roy and Hopeton Lewis on the Duke Reid production Tom Drunk, and Jackie Mittoo's Earthquake, his version of the Shank I Shek riddim.
Digging deeper the compilers have completed this wicked selection with a number of outstanding tracks from reggae veteran John Holt, the beautiful love song I'm The One To Blame, the track -Herb Man Dub- taken from the The Skatalites: Heroes Of Reggae In Dub album, an unknown version of Rockers Rock by Augustus Pablo and K.C. White's moving tune No No No.
Great stuff !!

Teacher & Mr. T.