Various artists album review
2 Hot 2 Handle Volume 1
Cylton Records
07 - 11 - 1997

Tracking list

  1. Terror Fabulous - Jah works
  2. Gregory Isaacs - Seize fire
  3. Bounty Killer - Stucky
  4. Frankie Paul - S-in you
  5. Frisco Kid - No inna weh dem inna
  6. Singing Melody - Let it flow
  7. Beres Hammond - Focussing time
  8. Anthony B. - Nutten can't escape
  9. Future Troubles & Tony Curtis - Face & physique
  10. Sizzla - It cost nothing
  11. Louis Culture & Mr. Easy - No peace
  12. Roundhead & General B. - Bleach
  13. A.R.P. - Peppersauce
  14. Hopeton Lindo - I'm glad it's you
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 4 Sleeve : 3

This compilation set showcases the production qualities of the labels Fat Eyes (Colin Bulby York & Lynford Fatta Marshall) and 321 Strong (Syl Gordon).
Two cuts on the rebuild "Declaration of Rights" riddim by Gregory Isaacs and Louis Culture/Mr. Easy. In this case Gregory is in as fine a form as he's been for some time, bringing home the message with his typical smooth sensitivity over a riddim of pounding intensity. Mr. Easy & Louie Culture meld surprisingly well in this empowering message tune. Louie Culture really finds his niche and makes the record. He brings a high energy level to an incredible riddim, which brings its own power to the track.
Reggae veterans Frankie Paul and Beres Hammond easily ride the "Can I change my mind" (Alton Ellis) riddim, and sweet voiced Hopeton Lindo tackles a familiar riddim (I just can't figure out the original !) in his recognisable style. Singing Melody does a cover of Toni Braxton's "Let it flow" over the "Under mi sensi" riddim, which is also used by Terror Fabulous in the crucial opening track "Jah works".
Two of this moment hottest dj's, Sizzla and Anthony B. put out a good effort, but don't live up to our expectations. Bounty Killer's "Stucky" is a catchy tune, while Frisco Kid bursts out in quick toasting that is well aided by a fairly rapid paced riddim.
The enjoyable mix of hard core dancehall tracks and lovers tunes of this album provides a good overview of the talents of these "freshman" producers.

Teacher & Mr. T.