Various artists album review
600 % Dynamite
Soul Jazz Records-Munich
December 23 - 2003

Tracking list

  1. Alozade and Hollow - Under Me Sensi
  2. Johnny Osbourne - Ready or Not
  3. Cynty And The Monkees - Lady Lady
  4. Tenor Saw Golden Hen
  5. Prince Mohammed Come Mek Me Rub A Dub
  6. Tall T And The Touchers Touching the President
  7. The Uniques - Queen Majesty
  8. Papa San - Give Her The Credit
  9. Dennis Brown Westbound Train
  10. Sister Nancy - Transport Connection
  11. I-Roy & Dennis Walks - Combination Drifter
  12. Johnny Osbourne - Buddy Bye
  13. In Crowd - His Majesty Is Coming
  14. Sandra Reid Ooh Boy
  15. Yabby You - Conquering Lion
  16. Exterminator - Love Line Version
  17. Earth & Stone - In Time To Come
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4/5 Production : 4 Sound quality : 4/5 Sleeve : 5

600 % Dynamite! is the sixth volume in the excellent "--% Dynamite" series that has now sold over 250,000 copies worldwide! All these excellent albums - all dressed in a bright funky sleeve, strongly reminiscent of those in fashion during the seventies - have been compiled by the crew of Soul Jazz Records, based in North London, UK.
Volume six offers a variety of styles : Dancehall, Roots, Deejay, Rocksteady, Funk, Early Dancehall, Soul it's all here! The album comprises non stop reggae anthems such as Tenor Saw's Golden Hen The Uniques 70's recut of their late sixties hitsingle Queen Majesty, Johnny Osbourne's dancehall killer Buddy Bye and rootsman Yabby You's Conquering Lion. The opening track is the combination Alozade and Hollow, they bring you classic dancehall in their contemporary version of Barrington levy's Under Mi Sensi. On the other hand sweet voiced UK Queen of Lovers Rock, Sandra Reid offers Oooh Boy.
Dennis Brown comes with the 1973 funky reggae track Westbound Train, produced by the one and only Niney the Observer. Worthwhile spinning is the Lee Perry production Lady Lady by Cynty And The Monkees. Listen to The In Crowd, featuring top vocalist Fil Callender, with the unforgettable 1977 roots song His Majesty Is Coming.
Featuring tracks from all the major Jamaican producers - Lee Perry, Winston Riley (Techniques), Bunny Lee, Sly and Robbie, Harry Mudie, Lloyd Charmers, Niney the Observer, Jo Jo Hookim (Channel One) and more, 600% Dynamite is simply the next installment in a series that's becoming a who's who of Reggae music!

Teacher & Mr. T.