Various artists album review
A.K.A. Dub
Lush Records
15 - 07 - 1997

Tracking list

  1. Black Roots (mixed by Mad Professor) - Dub reaction
  2. Dub Judah/Adrian Brown - Wipe away the tears
  3. Jah Woosh - Braking barrier dub
  4. D. Maximillan - We no want them dub
  5. Mixman Blakamix country
  6. Dub Wizzard - Angelic dub
  7. Kevin Eastwood/Mad Professor - Conscious man
  8. Armagideon - Step inside dub
  9. Twilight Circus - Dub frequency
  10. I-dub - Zion
  11. Dubb Addxx - Hannibal's journey
  12. Abeng - Green banana
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : - Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 4 Sleeve : 3

This compilation album gathers dubs from U.K. based artists, with the addition of one Dutch band (Twilight Circus) and two American roots and culture bands (Dub Addxx & Abeng). The selection mainly includes the kind of dub outings we were served with from the late '80s into the '90s. The U.K. dub genre, however, isn't every one's cup of tea. Some of its opponents judge it as rather cold and clinical in comparison with the Jamaican dub outings, while others stick to the fact that dubs of songs need to be previously encountered as vocal tunes. It's only fair to say that none of the afore-mentioned arguments can justify an ignorance of this album, which definitely is a very nice and listenable selection of dubs.

Teacher & Mr. T.