All Kinda Wall
(Free) Digital release
October 10, 2009

Track list
  1. Jahvisst - Good Morning
  2. Hanouneh - New Zion
  3. Sammy Gold - Collie Herbs
  4. Dan-I-Locks - All Kinda Wall
  5. AmsieBrown - Check Out
  6. Iyah Lazer - The Future Of Our Nation
  7. Dani M - Filthy Babylon
  8. Nu Chilly feat. Culture Brown - Love Is What The Children Want
  9. Haji Mike - Bless
  10. Dan I Locks - Friend In Weed
  11. Jah Zebi - Leave Those Drugs Alone
  12. Mysticman - Fly Away
  13. Manwel T - Dub Away
  14. Ras Bruno - Good Dubbing
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3
The compilation "All Kinda Wall" is Dubkey Records' first vocal set after having released three dub albums from Malta's Manwel T ("At The Temple Of Dub" and "Virtual Dub") and Belgium's Crucial Alphonso ("Visionary Creation"). Now it's Uppsala, Sweden, born producer Joel Eriksson -- known as Doobie in the reggae world -- who has become part of the steadily growing Dubkey Records catalogue. Inspired by the Uppsala Reggae festival and the modern roots recordings of artists like Lutan Fyah, Jah Mason and Capleton, Doobie started making reggae riddims on his computer in 2005. The absolute majority of his productions are strictly digital, but most of his riddims are firmly rooted in the classic reggae sound of the 70s and early 80s. All the fresh original riddims on this compilation were created in Sweden in these last four years

As an up-and-coming producer who is living and working in Sweden it's obvious that Doogie hasn't had the opportunity (and money) to record well known artists from Jamaica, England and Europe. Instead he worked with relatively unknown artists and a couple of others who have been recording for some time, but so far didn't manage to get wider recognition. now. However this doesn't have to imply that the musical quality falls short as is proven by this enjoyable compilation.

Jahvisst, original vocalist of Swedish roots reggae band Natural Way, has a calm, smooth voice which blends in well with the riddim of the solid album opener "Good Morning". Hanouneh is a jazz vocalist who has moved on to reggae and hiphop, fusing her musical ambitions with her political struggle. She has worked closely with the Lebanese underground hiphop scene, and is a part of Beirut collective "961 Underground" although she is based in Sweden nowadays. Vocally and lyrically her song, New Zion, is worth of hearing. UK artist Sammy Gold isn't exactly a newcomer as he started his career in 1978 at the tender age of 15. After having tried his luck as a deejay he turned to singing in 1981. In 1988 his first single called "Call Me Anytime" was released in association with Wolverhampton's Dread Lester, Ras Muffet and the Q sound crew. Two years later his second single "Girl I Like Your Style" was released, while his third release, "She's Gone", came in 1996 on the Motivate Movement label. To date, this Roots Judah produced single has had the most success. With the nice ganja tune "Collie Herbs" he not only shows that he has a distinctive voice, but that he also easily can find a nice flow across the riddim. All in all these three tunes are a decent and much promising opening of this compilation.

Dan-I-Locks, official micman for Deng Deng Hifi and one of Sweden's finest roots singers right now, delivers a convincing effort with the title track "All Kinda Wall" and later on also with "Friend In Weed". AmsieBrown, born to a Swedish mother and a Gambian father, is a member of a collective called Labyrint that deals with hiphop, reggae, dancehall and soul. He shows that he's a powerful singjay whose "Check Out" comes across a heavyweight steppers riddim. Jamaican singjay Dillon Hines aka Iyah Lazer has already released an eighteen track album entitled "State Of Emergency", and here he gives further proof of his skill and talent with "The Future Of Our Nation". Dani M is a young new artist from Uppsala, member of the STGK-crew, who comes from a musical family. He's the grandson of el maestro Marcos Monserrat and son of the much respected percussionist Simon Monserrat. "Filthy Babylon", a song with hit potential, is one of the best tracks on this compilation and also one of our favourite tunes. Next comes the matching combination tune "Love Is What The Children Want" by Nu Chilly and rough voiced Jamaican singjay Culture Brown. The latter was born in the parish of Westmoreland, Jamaica, and then moved to Kingston7 Elleston Flats at an early age. His most notable effort was a collaboration was Beres Hammond entitled "Militancy", the title track for his first full-length album. In July 2009 he released his next set, the double album "Poor".

Cypriot Haiji Mike contributes "Bless", a nice dub poem in which he speaks against war and strive. Jah Zebi, a veteran of the Swedish reggae scene, formed the High Valley band with producer Robstah and friends in 1992 and embarked on a solo career in 2001. He released "Soldier" with Shiloh Ites which became a hit in the Steppers scene and was also featured on Alpha & Omega's "City Of Dub". In 2007 he released the 12inch "Herbal Meditation" with Dub Tribulation, played frequently by Iration Steppers that summer, and on the B-side a tune called "Pure And Clean", wich was played by Jah Shaka. In 2008 he a song called "Niceness" on a 10inch with Dub Tribulation and Rod Taylor. Here he brings the song "Leave Those Drugs Alone", a real fine cautionary tune across a wicked midtempo riddim. The last vocalist, Sweden born (with Finnish blood) Mysticman, has been working with producer Jonahgold with whom he recorded the single "Fire" in 2005 and for whom he also played bass and guitar as well as providing backing vocals on Daweh Congo's highly acclaimed "Ghetto Skyline" album. Mysticman's "Fly Away", with its thumping bassline and nice hook, is a decent effort worth of hearing. The compilation rounds off with dub versions of Mysticman's "Fly Away" and Jahvisst's "Good Morning".

"All Kinda Wall" is a solid collection of conscious tunes and guess what... you can download it for free here.