Various artists album review
CD / 2LP
October 26 - 2003

Tracking list

  1. Vybz Kartel featuring Ward 21 - Nah Climb
  2. Wayne Marshall - We Roll
  3. Spragga Benz & T.O.K. - We Waah
  4. Sizzla - Peace
  5. Taz & Chico - Erica (Smirnoff)
  6. Elephant Man - Warn Dem
  7. Anthony B & Courtney Melody - For This
  8. Kid Kurrupt - Grey And Old
  9. Bounty Killer - Warning
  10. Bling Dawg - Walla Wis
  11. Mad Cobra - Must Get Ahead
  12. Spragga Benz - Dem A Chat
  13. Ward 21 - Watch It
  14. Daville - Party On
  15. Silver Cat - The Club
  16. Ce'cile - All Night
  17. Madd Anju - Give Thanks Father
  18. Tony Curtis - Sexy Gal
  19. General Degree - Girls Look Fine
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3

"Amharic" is #46 in the sought-after "Greensleeves Rhythm Album" series. The riddim has real attitude with its stabbing bass line and melodic keyboards nicely rounded off with the infectious Arabian flava. It's produced by Jammy "Jam2" James, a talented producer straight out of the Jammy's powerhouse.
The quality ground-breaking production has already stood tall in dances around the world since it was released on several 45s last summer. Now no less than 20 cuts are available in pure digital quality, and the sound is extremely powerful and hypnotizing. The album is packed phat with tunes voiced by some of Jamaica's hardest working artists. Spragga 'Di' Benz comes up with an extremely strong tune called Dem A Chat, while he gets together with TOK for another boom tune called We Waah. Silver Cat's tune The Club belongs to our favorite tracks here because his deliverance is very raw and direct. Outstanding combinations come courtesy of Vybz Kartel & Ward 21 with Nah Climb, Anthony B & Courtney Melody, and Taz & Chico. There's no weak tune included here, this riddim is one of the top riddims of the year!

Teacher & Mr. T.