Various artists album review
Baby Love
Charm-Jet Star
January 6, 2005

Tracking list

  1. Me Na Care - Vybz Kartel
  2. Cock It Up - Elephant Man
  3. Attached To Me - Capleton & Action K
  4. Baby Love - Sizzla
  5. Who Would It Be - Chuck Fender
  6. That Donít Matter - Tanya Stephens
  7. Girl I Love You So - Richie Spice
  8. Humble - Lukie D & Nitty Kuthie
  9. One Ting - Mad Cobra
  10. Up In The Club - Lexxus
  11. Lightning - Anthony B
  12. Harder and Harder - Determine
  13. Come Out At Night - Action K & Fancy Cat
  14. In The Dancehall - Anthony Cruz
  15. Not Afraid - Ice Cold
  16. Johnny was a Good Boy - Tony Rebel
  17. The Way You Bounce - Savana
  18. Fed Up - Angel
  19. Dance Move - D.J. Chicken
  20. Baby Love (Version)
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3/4

Volume 18 in Jet Star's "Riddim Rider" series finds Harvel "Gadaffi" Hart - known for producing Tanya Stephens' late 90's chartbuster "Big Ninja Bike" and hit riddims such as "Doorslam", "Heatwave", "Zero Tolerance" and "Goldmine" - back at the controls, bringing the dancehall massive another blinding street beat entitled "Baby Love". For this brand new riddim he teamed up with Debbie Harding, with whom he already worked together in 2001 when they created the successful "Bushy Bushy" riddim. Featuring many of today's most anticipated and prominent dancehall stars such as Vybz Kartel, Elephant Man and Sizzla, alongside promising newcomers like D.J. Chicken, Ice Cold and Action K, this "one riddim" set includes a notable amount of slammin' pieces with 'nuff potency to cause pure party excitement. Approximately half of the tunes included here were previously released on 45s, however most of them under a different title. The "Baby Love" riddim incorporates urgent acoustic guitar stabs over a futuristic-sounding keyboard riff, strings and a subtle clacking percussion undertow. It's the perfect backdrop for big tunes such as Vybz Kartel's "Me Na Care", Sizzla's "Baby Love", Richie Spice's "Girl I Love You So", the combination tune "Humble" by Lukie D & Nitty Kutchie, Mad Cobra's "One Ting" and Elephant Man's "Cock It Up" (aka "Clump Up"), with Ele once again laying down a series of dance move instructions. With "Baby Love" we're treated to another fine bashment riddim from one of dancehall music's most forward-thinking producers.

Teacher & Mr. T.