Various artists album review
Baby Why
Cables And Friends
VP Records-Walboomers Music
06 - 10 - 2002

Tracking list

  1. Lloyd Brown-Bless Me
  2. Freddie McGregor-Hold Me
  3. Pam Hall-Don't Hurt Me
  4. Keble Cable Drummond-Baby Why
  5. Vivian Jones-I'll Be Waiting
  6. George Nooks-My Children
  7. Fiona-Love
  8. Daville-My Heart
  9. Len Hammond-The Door
  10. Shine Head-You Got It Bad
  11. Tinga Stewart-Not This Time
  12. Nadine Sutherland-So Real
  13. Bunny Rugs-I'll Be There
  14. Shalom-Without You
  15. Don Campbell-Run Them
  16. Marcia Griffiths-Piece By Piece
  17. Nina-Only U Know
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4

Here's one other one riddim album out of the Joe Fraser production camp. Producers Lloyd & Michelle Campbell, Dean Fraser and Jason Sterling have reworked the Studio One hit of the Cables "Baby Why". With a top of the bill selection of artists like George Nooks, Pam Hall, Freddie McGregor, Vivian Jones, Don campbell, Nadine Sutherland and other golden voices nothing can go wrong. Just like the Joe Frasier produced album "I'll Be Lonely" the groove is smooth and the mood decidedly mellow. It's nice to see that they have included a version from one of the original Cables, and we must say he sounds remarkebly fresh here ! Even deejay Shinehead comes up with a swinging rendition across the infectious riddim. Standout tracks on this lovers rock album are Bless Me by UK based Lloyd Brown, Freddie's Hold Me, George Nooks with My Children and Run Them by Don Campbell.
Get in the mood and let it flow....

Teacher & Mr. T.