Rhythm Streetz Series #10 ~ Back Ache & Raging Bull
Don Corleon-In The Streetz
October 9, 2007

Track list
    'Back Ache'-riddim
  1. I Want It (Ya Ya) - Alaine
  2. We A Live - Bling Dawg
  3. Seh Dem Bad - Flexx
  4. Rise & Beat - Busy Signal
  5. Call Me - Vybz Kartel
  6. No Boy - Busy Signal & Munga
  7. Gangsta Rass - Munga
  8. Never Fall - Pressure
  9. Mek Mi Come - Voicemail feat. Cool Face
  10. So High - Wayne Marshall
    'Raging Bull'-riddim
  11. Dancing Feva - Voicemail feat. Cool Face
  12. Wine Pan U - Vybz Kartel
  13. Looking Right - Capleton
  14. Earthquake - Munga
  15. Rising - Busy Signal
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 5 Backing : 4 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4
Recorded and mixed by Donovan 'Vendetta' Bennett for his own Don Corleon Records and with a riddim built by himself, this is the second release of hardcore dancehall riddims for Byron Murray & Clifford 'Mr. Vegas' Smith' In The Streetz "Rhythm Streetz Series" - following the release last year of "#9 ~ High Altitude & Foundation" that was following in this series the most successful 2004 one drop riddim "#1 ~ Drop Leaf" produced by Donovan 'Vendetta' Bennett a.k.a. Don Corleon, selector Fire Links' completely crazy yet infectious riddim, "#2 ~ Chaka Chaka", DJ Sunshine's sophomore riddim "#4 ~ Real Life", Andrew Prendergast & Josef Bogdanovich a.k.a. Black & White of Downsound Records "#3 ~ Invasion & Maroon Riddim" and the inexplicably again "#3" numbered album "No Man's An Island", produced by the in the late 70s rather popular DJ now turned producer Neville 'Jah Woosh' Beckford for his Original Music label, the penultimate before this one so far Don Corleon's second very successfull one-drop riddim "#5 ~ Seasons" and as #6 finally an In The Streetz production, Byron Murray's first attempt at a one drop riddim "#6 ~ Street Swing" and Wayne 'Purple Skunk' Morris' (Donovan 'Vendetta' Bennett built and recorded) very successful first one drop riddims "#7 ~ Istanbul / Tropical" and Don Corleon's third successful one drop riddim "#8 ~ Heavenly".

And Don Corleon hits it again, once more with two hardcore dancehall riddims back to back for this 10th volume in the Rhythm Streetz Series "Back Ache & Raging Bull", with his greatest female discovery and protégé Alaine shining once more over one of his riddims with "I Want It (Ya Ya)", showing she is as much at ease over dancehallriddims as she is across roots backings, followed over this riddim that has some resemblance to the riddims usually for the past year produced by Freddie McGregor's son Stephen 'The Genius' McGregor (whether or not alongside DJ turned producer Delly Ranx) by Bling Dawg who seemed to have disappeared from the scene for almost a year, but who convinces upon his return with "We A Live" and so does Flexx with "Seh Dem Bad". It is however up to the bigger names to really push this riddim forward as Busy Signal with the excellent guntune "Rise & Beat" and Vybz Kartel delivering some very fine slackness simply stand out on this riddim.

Busy Signal returns for a second tune alongside Donovan 'Vendetta' Bennett's protégé Munga (Honorebel) for the firm statement "No Boy" immediately followed by Munga's solotune (and signature tune, as he proclaimed himself several times to be a) "Gangsta Rass". Another Don 'The Hitmaker' Corleon protégé, till now almost exclusively known for his roots (one drop) tunes, VI's Pressure Busspipe makes his mark on this dancehall riddim with the upful conscious "Never Fall", before Voicemail show they are the only boygroup in Jamaica rivaling T.O.K.'s vibes and flow with the very slack combination "Mek Mi Come" alongside Cool Face and Wayne Marshall heavily vocodered closes the tunes over the great 'Back Ache'-riddim with his strong ganja tune "So High".

I personally wasn't too fond of the 'Raging Bull'-riddim when I heard it the first couple of times. And although its infectiousness upon hearing the riddim and the tunes across it more often outweighs its simplicity, it's still more filler than killer. I'd have no trouble in trading the five tunes over the 'Raging Bull' against just the clean version of the 'Back Ache'-riddim (which unfortunately is lacking on this album) but don't want to cut the artists short, who still deliver fine efforts, like the second Voicemail combination with Cool Face "Dancing Feva" (as you'd expect a pure dance/party tune, Vybz Kartel's impeccable flow going slack in great style once more "Wine Pan U" and the Fire Man Capleton, (almost) going over the top in his (over-(vocodered)) gals tune "Looking Right". The brightest shining stars of the first riddim 'Back Ache' of course both voiced a tune over the 'Raging Bull' as well and both Munga with "Earthquake" and Busy Signal with "Rising" make clear that they haven't held back anything (neither in gangsterism nor in boasting fierceful delivery) in voicing their tunes for Donovan 'Vendetta' Bennett a.k.a. 'The Hitmaker' a.k.a. Don Corleon, who impresses here only with one of his riddims but luckily the one containing two-thirds of the tunes, but in the meanwhile he still cements his position as one of THE producers currently ruling dancehalls in Jamaica and the rest of the world.