Bad Dog Riddim
Black Shadow Records
November 30, 2007

Track list
  1. Crazy Talk - Buju Banton
  2. Killa Talk - Bounty Killer
  3. No Guts - Rekha
  4. The Crime - Beenie Man
  5. Iron - Unknown
  6. A A - Mad Cobra
  7. Down Ah Prison - Elephant Man
  8. Worry - Mr. Vegas
  9. Real Bad Dog - Bling Dawg
  10. Bumpa Roll - Kevin Lyttle
  11. Nuh Bad Like Mi Toe - Macka Diamond
  12. Gun Nuh Borrow - Alozade feat. Kiprich
  13. We Nah Stop - Frisco Kid feat. New Kidz
  14. Clip - OG
  15. Bad Dog Riddim - Troyton & Wesley Rami
    Bonus Tracks
  16. Don't Mess Around - Mavado
  17. Who Dem Pussy Yah - Mad Cobra
  18. Ghetto Commandments - Busy Signal
Rate this album!
Cast your vote below.

Essential -Votes: 19-
Very Good -Votes: 3-
Good -Votes: 4-
Average -Votes: 3-
Disappointing -Votes: 0-
A Waste Of Time -Votes: 0-

Total votes : 29
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 5 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3
Producer Troyton Rami's Black Shadow Records" is an independent record company based in Miami, Florida, which originally started out as a sound system called Black Shadow Movements, in the early nineties by Donny Don, Father Wes (who is still involved as executive producer) and Troyton. It's unbelievable in my opinion, following the success of early 2004's oriental percussion flavoured 'Ching Chong', last year's 'Blink'-riddim and with the undisputed quality of earlier Black Shadow Records' riddims - the hiphop flavoured 'Surprise'-riddim and the 'Buzz'-riddim that brought dancehall once again back into the mainstream as the beat under Sean Paul's "Gimme The Light" - that the releases of Troyton Rami's riddims don't have a much bigger impact, although this latest riddim 'Bad Dog' at least got some of the credits it should get.

This strange but very intriguing 'Bad Dog'-riddim, extremely stripped down to ruthless drums and a simple keyboard melody at only 70 bpm allows more than enough space to voice killer tunes over it. And that's exactly what has happened here, as Buju Banton with his mighty "Crazy Talk" opens this album with the best tune over the riddim, but Bounty Killer's fierce "Killa Talk" is almost as strong. The 'first lady of Black Shadow Records Rekha, who debuted with "Too Close" on the 'Buzz'-riddim, had the fine "Good To Go" over 'Ching Chong' and then her "Let Me See You Clap" across 'Blink' had everything in it to bust as big as Nina Sky did (but didn't), delivers the big tune "No Guts" questioning the gangster pose of wanna-be gangsters, followed by Beenie Man's strong "The Crime".

It's not really too hard to guess who the Unknown delivering the harsh "Iron" is, as in its intro Troyton Rami himself states "Mek Mi Deal With It Myself", the most intriguing almost spoken delivered tune across this selection, before Mad Cobra with "A A" and Elephant Man with "Down Ah Prison" both also chip in with tunes belonging to the highest category. Mr. Vegas seems to be enjoying a second peak in his career, as almost every tune he voices is convincing these days and his "No Worry" - like Mad Cobra's "A A" hardly more than a constantly repeated hookline - is no exception to this.

Bling Dawg, who suddenly seems to be back en vogue, delivers the fine "Real Bad Dog" giving this riddim its name, before soca singer Kevin Lyttle gets so heavily vocodered that it mashes up his "Bumpa Roll", in the process showing that this riddim wasn't exactly build for party and gals tunes, for which is made up by a very strong appearance from Macka Diamond telling us that some girls "Nuh Bad Like Mi Toe" and Alozade, teaming up for the strong "Gun Nuh Borrow" with Kiprich trying to make up for lost ground, taken by for example Buju Banton protégé New Kidz, who impresses here with "We Nah Stop" alongside Frisko Kid, working on his comeback here as well. The last vocal tune before the bonus tracks is OG's boasting "Clip", before the clean instrumental "Bad Dog Riddim" shows how less can be more when it's done as skillful as Troyton Rami does here. After that three more top tunes are included as bonus tracks, the typical 'gangsta for life' tune "Don't Mess Around" by Mavado, Mad Cobra's ultra-violent and X-rated second voicing across the riddim "Who Dem Pussy Yah" and Busy Signal's "Ghetto Commandments, making it even more obligatory for all hardcore dancehall addicts to buy this album (if you didn't buy the 45s already).