Battlefield Super Single
Gumption Productions-Tuff Riddim Records
January 16, 2006

Track list
  1. Guide & Shield - Jah Cure feat. Capleton
  2. Yadding Away - Lymie Murray
  3. Stronger Than Before - Jah Thunder
  4. Looking Away Out - Mikey General
  5. Herbs & Spices - Izana
  6. Girls Trod - Brahyhan Art
  7. You Got Me - Bushman
  8. Sweet Empress - Fire Stick
  9. Fire Works - Jah Quake
  10. Don't Waste My Time - Turbulence
  11. Glory - Ras Myrhdak
  12. Love In Jam Down - Geoffry Star
  13. Mentally Strong - Capleton
  14. Battlefield Riddim - Gumption Band
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4 Backing : 5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3/4
About half a year ago Gumption Productions released on its own lable Tuff Riddim Records the 'Battlefield'-riddim, and now this riddim built by drummer Rolando 'Phanso' Wilson and keyboard-player Dwight 'Duke' Dawes, who were together also members of the world famous (at least in reggae) backing band Gumption, alongside bass player Isaiah 'Onie' Palmer and guitarist Ian 'Beezy' Coleman, produced by 'Phanso' and 'Duke' themselves alongside Fabian 'Goldy' Francis, has been released as the one-riddim album "Battlefield Super Single". Opening the album is the wicked Jah Cure & Capleton combination "Guide & Shield", followed by former SKOOL leadsinger Paul 'Lymie' Murray's excellent "Yadding Away" and Jah Thunder most impressive tune I have heard (probably helped by the superb backing vocals of Geoffrey Star) "Stronger Than Before". Mikey General delivers the sweet "Looking Away Out" followed by 'Perfect/Fantan-soundalike' Izana contributing the very fine "Herbs & Spice". Fine melodic singing is provided by both newcomer Brahyhan Art, who after a stint as guitar player in the Firehouse Crew band was co-founder and musical leader of Bushman's Grassroots band, on "Girls Trod" and his former employer Bushman on "You Got Me". Fire Stick's "Sweet Empress" is a fine Sizzla-like sounding ode to his princess, and Jah Quake delivers the nice "Fire Works", but both are very easily topped by Turbulence's more melodic "Don't Waste My Time" dealing with the highs and lows of love before singjay Ras Myhrdak, who didn't impress me too much on his earlier efforts on Gumption's 'Israelites'-riddim, Minor7Flat5's 'Ivan' nor Stone Love's 'Real Rock', finally unveils how talented he is on "Glory" (though heavily borrowing from the Perfect/Fantan Mojah style of delivery). Geoffrey Star has been a favourite of mine since hearing him on Kingstone's 'Truth' and both of Donovan 'Vendetta' Bennett's one-drop riddims 'Drop Leaf' and 'Seasons' and here he is singing an excellent tune again: "Love In Jam Down", before Capleton's impressive solo-tune on the riddim, the fierce "Mentally Strong" is the last vocal featured on this very fine album, followed by the clean version of the "Battlefield Riddim" closing an excellent set of tunes on this very nice sounding and well produced one-drop riddim.