Various artists album review
CD / 2LP
21 - 03 - 2000

Tracking list

  1. Capleton - Who Dem
  2. Ward 21 - Model & Pose
  3. Mr. Vegas - Two Minute More
  4. Beenie Man & Angel Doolas - Skettel Tune
  5. Lexxus, Kiprich & Elephant Man - Ghetto Youths
  6. Ward 21 - Blood Stain
  7. Spragga Benz - Praise
  8. Lexxus - Halla Halla
  9. Red Rat - Skin A Slap
  10. Alizade - Prowler
  11. Beenie Man - Heights Of Great Men
  12. Bushman & I Lue - Live Up
  13. Mega Banton - Tight Pants
  14. Frisco Kid - Wash Pan
  15. Hawkeye - Mix Up Time
  16. Devonte & Tanto Metro - Wi Like It
  17. Kiprich - Naah Go Switch
  18. Madd Anju - Dat Nuh Mek It
  19. Goofy - Naah Heng Out
  20. Jack A Diamond - Tight It Tight
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3/4

From King Jammy's studio, Kingston JA, comes the Ward 21 produced massive "Bellyas" riddim, still running hotter than hot and currently tearing down dancehalls across the globe. Artists and producers Ward 21 crashed on to the scene in 1999 with the "Bada Bada" and "Da Joint" riddims. With an astonishing output of 54 cuts on "Bellyas" and artists queuing round the block to voice on the riddim, Ward 21 have definitely established themselves as a force to reckon with when it comes to hardcore ragga/dancehall business. The same goes for the UK based Greensleeves Records. This company was the first outside Jamaica to set up a release program of 7" singles collecting the hottest ragga/dancehall tunes and riddims around. At the beginning of a new millennium Greensleeves have at last entered into the "one riddim" album fray with this first installment of their brand new "Rhythm Album" series, thus making an x-amount of cuts on a firing riddim available on a wider scale. "No more chasing round town for all the pieces, we've done the work for you !", is their device.
"Bellyas" features top ranking Dancehall artists alongside top new talent and includes tracks never to be released as singles plus exclusives currently being serviced to key deejays. Although many entertaining dancehall tunes and solid performances can be enjoyed, this set also contains some standouts. Among them Capleton's "Who Dem", "Model & Posse" by Ward 21, the wicked combination tune "Ghetto Youths" by Lexxus, Kiprich & Elephant Man with , Beenie Man's exceptional "Heights Of Great Men" and "Naah Go Switch" by Kiprich. Dancehall devotees can purchase this compilation set on CD or on, so-called, DJ friendly 2 piece vinyl, the latter of course primed for maximum mixability.

Teacher & Mr. T.