Various artists album review
Best Of The Best Vol. 1 Roots Culture Dancehall
Jamdown Records
13 - 08 - 1998

Tracking list

  1. Red Rat & Hawkeye - Dolly House Secrets
  2. Beenie Man & ARP - Storm
  3. Delly Ranks - Disrespect
  4. Mr. Vegas - Yuh Sure
  5. Mr. Vegas & Lady G. - Hotter Than The Rest
  6. Scare Dem Crew - Girls Everyday
  7. Hawkeye - Ooh Ah Ah
  8. Sizzla - Purified Woman
  9. Anthony B - Chant A Prayer
  10. Beenie Man & Sanchez - Going Away
  11. Mr. Vegas - Everytime
  12. Beenie Man - Hypocrite
  13. Frisco Kid - Gal Pon De Side
  14. Captain Barkey - Girls Town
  15. Powerman - Baby
  16. Various Artists - Megamix (Bonus Track)
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4

Jamdown Records comes up with a continuous mega mix album, phat packed with the latest slammin' dancehall hits and a bonus track, a mega mix with all 15 songs. The album contains versions of the hottest riddims of this moment produced by the likes of Dave Kelly, Richard Martin, Shane Richards, Paul Nelson, Syl Gordon and Winston Powell (Stone Love).
Producer Richard Martin's lick of the George Michael 80s hit "Faith" is featured four times on this album : Yuh Sure, Hotter Than The Rest, Girls Everyday and Ooh Ah Ah.
Stone Love Productions delivers two fine love songs, the combination Sanchez & Beenie Man with Going Away followed by the straight vocal version of the sweet-voiced Sanchez (track is wrongly stated as Mr. Vegas' Everytime). Beenie Man is also present with Hypocrite, followed by Frisco Kid who licks the same riddim with the popular Gal Pon De Side.
This album has something for everyone : dancehall, lovers rock and reality tunes (check out Sizzla's Purified Woman !) . Fifteen top juggling tunes, all of which did well as singles, make a well varied set !

Teacher & Mr. T.