Various artists album review
Big People Music Volume 9
Charm-Jet Star
October 5 - 2003

Tracking list

  1. Glen Washington - I Found Me A Love
  2. Lloyd Brown - These Arms Of Mine
  3. Leroy Brown - Heartache
  4. The Chosen Few - Warm And Tender Love
  5. Don Campbell - Could It Be
  6. Winston Reedy - We're In This Love Together
  7. Donna Marie - Master Plan
  8. Valerie Harrison - Come Back
  9. Mikey Spice - Glass House
  10. Zulu - Homesickness
  11. Glen Washington - That Smile
  12. Dobby Dobson - Another Heartache
  13. A.R.P. - Celina
  14. Lukie D - New Day
  15. Queen Omega - Mouths Must Be Fed
  16. Gregory Isaacs - Mellow Mood
  17. Leroy Gibbons - Hold Them
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 4 Sleeve : 3/4

Here we have the ninth volume in Jet Star's ever popular "Big People Music" series. A lovers rock compilation album loaded with tracks trying to capture a mood, and aimed at the more "mature" listener to brighten up his romantic moments. An appreciation of big people’s music is by no means limited to age, even if those raised on old school reggae are always going to form its core audience.
Don Campbell’s fusion of soul, r&b and reggae on Could It Be leads the way on this latest instalment, and illustrates just why the one-time chartbuster with Saint & Campbell is now so in-demand by reggae producers from across the Atlantic. UK reggae's on the move, and with Lloyd Brown reprising his Black Heroes In The Hall Of Fame portrayal of Otis Redding on These Arms Of Mine, and former Cimarrons' lead singer Winston Reedy sounding in such great voice on We’re All In This Together, UK talent's well represented here; an impression reinforced by Donna Marie’s hit slice of the Columbus riddim Master Plan , and the assured singing of Valerie Harrison, whose Come On Back is uplifting to the max. Newcomer Queen Omega delivers a boomblast tune with the amazing original Mouths Must Be Fed. This over seven minute workout finds Omega pushing out her big voice when she wants to, and keeping it soft and subtle at other points in her song about caring for our world.
The album is for everyone who can still appreciate good songs, fine vocals, catchy melodies and top class arrangements, and want their reggae music to reflect taste and maturity, rather than glorify in violence, sex or materialism.

Teacher & Mr. T.