Massive B Presents Big Tunez Vol. 03
December 08, 2006
December 8, 2006

Track list

    'Come Around'-riddim
  1. Come Around - Collie Buddz
    'Don't Sure'-riddim
  2. Don't Sure - Choppa (Chop)
    'Jah Love' a.k.a. 'Warn The Nation'-riddim
  3. Inna Di Road - Chezidek
  4. Open Da Door - Richie Spice
  5. Momma Warning - Ras Shiloh
  6. Precious - Norrisman
  7. Mary Grandson - Kharri Kill
    'Free Speech'-riddim
  8. Free Speech - Kong Kong
    'March Out'-riddim
  9. March Out - (Tony) Matterhorn
  10. Wave Ur Flags - Elephant Man
  11. Brrrt - Bunji Garlin
  12. Jiggle It - T.O.K. feat. Monster Twinz
  13. U Can't Escape - Movado
  14. No Time To Talk - Wayne Wonder
  15. U Hotta - Vybz Kartel
  16. Where We Live - Choppa
  17. Da Streetz - Burro (Banton)
    Bonus Videos
  18. Wave Ur Flags (Video) - Elephant Man
  19. Inna Di Road (Video) - Chezidek
  20. Don't Sure (Video) - Choppa (Chop)
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4 Backing : 5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3/4
NY producer and selector (and the man behind NYC's most listened-to dancehall show "On The Reggae Tip" on the famous Hot 97, a show I tried to catch each week when living a couple of months in the tri-state area 5 years ago) Bobby Konders of the Massive B label and Massive B Sound System takes us into 2007 with this extremely nice two riddim compilation "Massive B Presents Big Tunez Vol. 03" with a these days (unfortunately) unusual mix of roots and hardcore. After being responsible for the until now one-off "Greensleeves Official Dancehall Mix-Tape 1", then teaming up for his very successfull 'Wanted' riddim taking us into 2004 with T.O.K.'s big scoring "Gal Yuh Ah Lead", two years ago into 2005 with the great 'Rah Rah' and a year ago - once more with Richard 'Shams' Browne of 'Baddis' and its 2005 relick 'Baddis Ting', 'Juice', 'Glue' and 'Intercourse' fame - with the 'more bounce to the ounce' riddim 'Bang Bang'.

Now Bobby Konders has this two-riddim album opened with tunes not on either of these two riddims, but one of the biggest years of last year, Collie Buddz' massive smash "Come Around", the tune that propelled this Bermuda-born US based singjay to the climax of every dancehall selection, with its wonderful riddim produced by Crown & Kathsoreal for their Fire House Muzik under his excellent delivery of this ganja anthem, followed by extremely talented singjay and Bobby Konders protégé Choppa (Chop) on which all comes together brilliantly, Massive B's by Obsession & FX laid superb roots riddim, Choppa's singjaying and punchline and Bobby Konders' flawless production.

Then the tunes on the great foundation relick 'Truth & Rights' follow-up, the massive 'Jah Love' a.k.a. 'Warn The Nation'-riddim - Vivian 'Yabby U' Jackson's 1978 classic roots production relicked - follow. Hit tunes in abundance, Chezidek's beautiful "Inna Di Road", Richie Spice's big chart topping "Open Da Door", Ras Shiloh's "Momma Warning" once more proving that this singer is seriously underrated and underrecorded, Norrisman's strong tribute to life "Precious" and Trinidadian bobo Kharri Kill once more impressing on a Massive B riddim with the fine storytelling in his anti-ghetto-violence tune "Mary Grandson". A truly excellent remake laid by Mad Man Myrie with great tunes pon top, but it's a pity Massive B stalwarts Burro Banton and King Kong's magnificent "Rise 'n' Shine' and 'Ethiopia' aren't included.

Luckily King Kong's equally excellent "Free Speech", another one-off tune is included, as it shows King Kong in his great oldschool (think Nitty Gritty & Tenor Saw) singjay style over another great riddim. And then the mood switches completely for the 110 BPM dancehall scorcher laid by Ryan Grant, 'March Out' with its rave bassline guaranteeing the hardcore dancehall selector crowded dancefloors with Tony Matterhorn's title tune "March Out" once more calling all goodas girls to come into action, followed by Elephant Man's encouragement to all West Indians to "Wave Ur Flag" (as they did yesterday when their team beat Pakistan in the opener at Kingston's Sabina Park of the ICC Cricket World Cup) and soca star Bunji Garlin delivering the best tune over the riddim with "Brrrt". Great party vibes are provided by T.O.K. featuring the Monster Twinz calling up all girls to shake their booties and "Jiggle It". Movado's badman gun tune "U Can't Escape" and Wayne Wonder's gangsta anthem "No Time To Talk" come on extremely strong as well. Vybz Kartel's "U Hotta" is another masterpiece by the slack lyricist paying tribute to THE girl, followed by Choppa's deejayed ghetto-tune "Where We Live" and veteran and Massive B stalwart Burro Banton's archetypical "Da Streetz". It's a pity Beniton's "Tun It Up" is missing, but Bobby Konders with this selection showcases he can rule the dancehalls no matter whether it's with roots or dancehall selections.

As a bonus Elephant Man's nice "Wave Ur Flag" (Video), shot at West Indian Day Parade September 4th 2006 in Brooklyn, NYC, Chezidek's "Inna Di Road" (Video) and Choppa Chop's "Don't Sure" (Video) have been included, enhancing the already enormous pleasure this CD brings you. Must buy stuff!