Billion Riddim
L.I.ON Records - Black Arrow
April 15, 2008

Track list
  1. Mama Africa - Luciano
  2. Higher - Gyptian
  3. Jah Love - Beenie Man
  4. No More Killing - Capleton feat. Moses I
  5. Vampire - Fantan Mojah
  6. Nuff A Dem - Ginjah
  7. Can't Mix - Lutan Fyah
  8. Here We Go - Richie Spice
  9. There Goes My Baby - Calvin Richardson
  10. So Many Lesson - Carroll Thompson
  11. Promise - Frankie Paul
  12. Alive - Sylvia Tella
  13. I Am Hurt - Freddie McGregor
  14. I Am Soldier - Anthony Q
  15. 21st Century - Mikey General
  16. Why Can't We Live In Love - Livyesill
  17. Meck Money Come In - Junior Cat
  18. Have To Change - Ishean
  19. One Thing Next Thing - Charmaine
  20. Love Is Better Than War - Tagga War feat. Coco Brown
  21. Billion Version
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3/4
Colin 'L.I.' a.k.a. 'London Indivuduals' Simms produced and mixed this smashing soulful roots riddim - built alongside Michael 'Remmy' Weekes - for his own L.I.ON label to make a very impressive debut as producer at (one riddim) album's length, releasing 20 tunes on and the clean version of this very smooth riddim, distributed by London's Black Arrow, as a successor of the 7" only 'Million'-riddim. Luciano opens this collection with the very strong (with his Dennis Brown influences clearly audible) "Mama Africa", followed by Gyptian with the excellent "Higher" and Beenie Man with the even stronger conscious "Jah Love". Capleton alongside fellow member of his David House Crew Moses I impresses with the strong urging reality tune and call for an end to violence "No More Killing" against a background of brilliant backing vocals and Fantan Mojah contributes the very fierce "Vampire".

The conscious vibe is maintained by Ginjah with his truly heartfelt "Nuff A Dem", Lutan Fyah with his very strong "Can't Mix" and Richie Spice with his upful "Here We Go". Then it's time to switch to the lovers mood that fits like a glove on this riddim as well as roots with US soulsinger Calvin Richardson singing the magnificent "There Goes My Baby", UK lovers rock icon Carroll Thompson showing her delivery is still as impeccable as when she started out 30 years ago with "So Many Lesson" and the luckily these days again more often voiced Frankie Paul, who also has been recording more than 25 years now, contributing the smooth "Promise". Sylvia Tella, another female UK lovers rock veteran impresses with "Alive", before Studio One veteran and still highly respected singer Freddie McGregor delivers the wonderful love gone wrong tune "I Am Hurt".

Up and rising Anthony Q despite its title wit "I Am Soldier" also contributes a lovesong, before Mikey General delivers the apocalyptic warning "21st Century", followed by the upcoming singjay Levysill from Nairobi, Kenya, with his almost desperate cry for a better tomorrow "Why Can't We Live In Love". Junior Cat, who seems to be en vogue again lately, goes oldschool-style very convincingly for "Meck Money Come In" before the to me unknown very strong singer Ishean with "Have To Change" and female nightingale Charmaine with "One Thing Next Thing" make very strong debut appearances. Tugga War & sweet voiced singer Coco Brown - who already teamed up 4 years ago for Harvel 'Gadaffi' Hart (who is involved in this project as well) and his Annex Records - contribute the very strong last vocal take "Love Is Better Than War" across this smashing riddim that is luckily also featured in its fabulous clean "Billion Version".