Riddim Driven ~ Bingie Trod
VP Records
CD / 2LP
June 7, 2005

Track list
  1. Hi Hi - Jah Cure
  2. Times Getting Harder - Spragga Benz
  3. Step Pon Crime - Bushman
  4. Thanks To Be - Alozade
  5. All Day All Night - Richie Spice
  6. Ole Fashion - Pam Hall
  7. Caan Lie - Junior Kelly
  8. Nuh Time At All - Jah Mason
  9. Beat The Kette - Elephant Man
  10. Love You - Turbulence
  11. Closer To Me - Buju Banton
  12. What Is Man - Luciano
  13. Break Down Babylon - Sizzla
  14. Away Away - Bascom X
  15. Gi Mi Dat - Anthony B
    Vinyl Only Bonus Tracks
  16. All Vanity - Norris Man
  17. Hail To The King - Simpleton
  18. Losing Battle - Chrisinti
  19. With A Plan - Hawkeye
    CD and Vinyl Track
  20. Bingie Trod Version
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 5 Backing : 5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3
DJ turned producer as well Michael 'Alozade' Sterling debuted in fine style with the hardcore 'Chrome'-riddim - with its hard to get out of your head synth riff over its rolling drums, best known as the riddim backing "In Her Heart" by Capleton - for his own South Block label. And now Alozade and his South Block label return, and how! Even in the midst of a flurry of one-drop riddims pouring from Kingston, this VP Records Riddim Driven release 'Bingie Trod' is a real standout based on a foundation of traditional nyahbinghi drums with a fine bassline, and gorgeous vocals. Jah Cure's "Hi Hi" was one of only a couple of new tracks on the recently released "Freedom Blues" and one of the most beautiful on that collection. Spragga Benz and Bushman both deliver great reality tunes with "Times Getting Harder" and "Step Pon Crime" before Michael 'Alozade' Sterling, better known for his hardcore dancehall tunes, shows his conscious side on "Thanks To Be" before Richie Spice chips in with the girls-ballad "All Day All Night" and Pam Hall with "Ole Fashion" explaining i am just an old fashioned kind of girl / can't keep up with the changes in the world / don't want a woman inna mi bed / want a man to go to my head with a sweet voice as only she can. Junior Kelly also touches the slow lovers side with "Caan Lie" before Jah Mason singjays that "Nuh Time At All" you try to give in to them evilous regime. The absolute standout track on an album filled with great takes on the 'Bingie Trod' is Elephant Man's "Beat The Kette", an absolutely amazing tune with an almost African gospel-like sounding choir backing him, in my opinion his best tune ever. Turbulence is as solid as ever on the lovers tune "Love You" and Buju Banton once again proves that he is one of the top-notch artists to voice binghi riddims with his superb lovers tune "Closer To Me". Luciano never disappoints on slow roots, one-drop and nyahbinghi riddims, and he is strong this time around as well with "What Is Man" that Jah should be mindful of, before Sizzla proves how much more comfortable he is on this type of riddims than hardcore dancehall beats on the very fine "Break Down Babylon". Bascom X is in very fine form on his praise song "Away Away" and so is Anthony B on his semi-slack "Gi Mi Dat". Norris Man's "All Vanity", Simpleton's "Hail To The King", Chrisinti's "Losing Battle" and Hawkeye's i'm just a man "With A Plan" like everybody else are all tunes worth buying the vinyl version if you have a choice, before the wicked "Bingie Trod Version" itself closes a set of superb tunes of an a superb riddim that you probably wouldn't have expected on the South Block label, but let's give thanks and praises that it's there!