A Bitta World Riddim
iRasta Pasta Rekords
January 30, 2009

Track list
  1. Dry Those Tears - Lady Meeka
  2. Lonesome Fyah - Lutan Fyah
  3. Mama Africa - Cutty Corn
  4. Level Meds - Jah Bami
  5. Neva Get Weary - Khari Kill
  6. Ah De Weed - Chezidek
  7. No More Gun Play - Bones
  8. Life Get Dread - Lyrikal
  9. Don't Play Me - Fyah I Stick
  10. Love Life - Chabe
  11. War And Crime - Assilass
  12. Bittaness In Di World - Gounzman feat. Fyah Empress
  13. No More Mistakes - Dainjamental
  14. A Bitta World - Vildigit
  15. A Bitta World Riddim
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4
Bridgeport, Connecticut based Rasta Pasta Rekords have released their first one-riddim album "A Bitta World" on which Jamaica meets Trinidad. A very nice melodic yet powerful one-drop with great oldschool organ and piano accents reveals a lot of attention being paid to this backing (by and at Bobby Digital's Digital B Studio in Jamaica). The first tune is the very nice "Dry Those Tears" sung by Trinidadian Timeka Harry a.k.a. Lady Meeka followed by Lutan Fyah with the strong "Lonesome Fyah" and Dangerzone's very promising newcomer Cutty Corn with his great voice singing the great repatriation song "Mama Africa". Very strong is the concept of this album on which all the artists seem to have gotten the task to at least include one lyrical reference to a bitter world in their contributions.

Trinidadian reggae-soul singer Jah Bami has a great (couldn't avoid the word) soulful delivery in "Level Meds" and then Trinidadian Bobo chanter Khari Kill promises he will "Never Get Weary" before with the wonderful "Ah De Weed" Chezidek explains what makes him feel so irie very convincingly. Bones a.k.a. Bonez delivers his "No More Gun Play" in a very laid-back oldschool heavy baritone singjay style and then Trinidadian born, Brooklyn based DJ Lyrikal impresses with "Life Get Dread" on which the extremely strong female backing vocals certainly deserve a special mention. Obviously inspired by both Sizzla and Perfect the to me unknown Fyah I Stick debuts with the fine "Don't Play Me" and newcomer Chabe from Mandeville shows he is another great good-voiced singer contributing the uplifting "Love Life".

Assilas is again a Trinidadian singjay who convinces with "War And Crime" and he's followed by his fellow countryman Gounzman whose Sizzla-like vocals combine beautifully with Fyah Empress' smooth singing in "Bittaness Inna Di World". Co-producer of the album Dainjamental (who also did the US-voicings that were not done in JA at Digital B) delivers the slightly off-key sounding - and I'd almost say off-topic - yet entertaining lovers tune "No More Mistakes" before the album is closed by Mr. Vildig'it's "A Bitta World" giving the riddim its name and the fabulous clean "A Bitta World Riddim" instrumental. A wonderful one-drop one-riddim album on which both the established names and the newcomers from both Jamaica and Trinidad (though often US based) deliver excellent tunes.