Various artists album review
The Black Foundation In Dub

Tracking list

  1. Marcus Garvey Dub
  2. Jah Jah Dub
  3. Time Hard
  4. Creation
  5. Patient Dub
  6. African Birthright
  7. Running Dub
  8. Track 20 Dub
  9. Slavery Days Dub
  10. Dub Upright
  11. Dub In Time
  12. Nubia
  13. Bawling
  14. Burning
  15. Harvest
  16. Dub Of Tomorrow
  17. Warning Version
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : - Backing : 5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3/4

Dub is a uniquely Jamaican invention where the song is stripped down, manipulated, and reborn in a mostly mind-blowing melange of sounds. The late Osbourne Ruddock aka King Tubby is widely regarded as the brilliant dub inventor and king of dub, responsible for mixing some of the best and finest dub outings in his four-track studio at Drommilly Avenue, Kingston JA. However Tubbs was not the only one who put dub on the map because at the same time another equally brilliant engineer, Errol "ET" Thompson, was experimenting on the four-track board at Randy's studio, mixing versions for producer Joe Gibbs. Both dub pioneers (and also Sylvan Morris and HeartBeat's Chris Wilson) have created the dub versions of the original tracks from Burning Spear, Justin Hinds and the Dominoes, The Heptones and others, which are featured on the excellent and essential set "Jack Ruby Presents The Black Foundation". This makes "The Black Foundation In Dub", a fine and enjoyable instrumental dub companion to the aforementioned compilation.
The dubs of Burning Spear's "Marcus Garvey" and "Slavery Days" from the "Garvey's Ghost" album (released on Island Records) totally differ from the dub versions featured here. On this compilation set the dubs are much rougher and more powerful! Other great dub versions are "Patient Dub", "Running Dub", "Track 20 Dub", "Dub Upright" and "Bawling".

Teacher & Mr. T.