Various artists album review
Pow Pow Productions
October 17, 2004

Tracking list

  1. Junior Kelly - Blaze
  2. Turbulence - Rest A Show
  3. Richie Spice - Blood Again (The Way They Living)
  4. Gentleman - Unconditional Love
  5. Lutan Fyah - Bits & Pieces
  6. Chuck Fender - For My People
  7. Platinum - How I Feel
  8. Anthony B - The System
  9. Elijah Prophet - Want You Back
  10. Taffari - Heaven In Your Eyes
  11. Tippa Irie - Every Day
  12. Jah Mason - My Way
  13. Mark Wonder - Tell It Like It Is
  14. Murdak - Brighter Days
  15. Brusco - Sangue
  16. Blaze Version
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4/5 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4

Since his first production works Ingo Rheinbay from German sound system and record label "Pow Pow Productions" has shown that he's able to deliver well produced and executed reggae music. After the dancehall oriented "Celebrate" and the real wicked and successful reworking of Desmond Dekker's "Shanty Town (Double 'O' Seven)" he produced the fresh original "Blaze" riddim. It's Pow Pow's third riddim and again it proves to be a blazing hot one. Earlier this year released on 45s it's now made available on cd. "Blaze" treats us to a crisp selection of tunes over this big riddim, actually a wicked live "one drop" riddim that turns out to be the perfect backdrop for such top roots & culture artists out of Jamaica like for example Junior Kelly, Anthony B and Chuck Fender as well as typical Pow Pow artists such as Gentleman, Jah Mason and Turbulence. Featured here are fifteen cuts plus the version, all worth of hearing as there's no weak tune around. Every song has its own merit and it proves almost impossible to point out the standouts. Thus we limit ourselves to our choice musical cuts that include Junior Kelly's "Blaze", Chuck Fender's "For My People", Richie Spice's "Blood Again (The Way They Living)", Lutan Fyah's "Bits & Pieces", Gentleman's "Unconditional Love", Jah Mason's "My Way", Tippa Irie's "Every Day" and "Tell It Like It Is" by the underrated roots singer Mark Wonder. Besides these efforts one should definitely check out much promising new singer Platinum, who delivers a very good tune called "How I Feel". Wicked riddim and great tunes, so ignore at your peril!!

NOTE : As bonus the cd features a video of the awesome Richie Spice tune "Blood Again (The Way They Living)".

Teacher & Mr. T.