Bobo Revolution 2
Greensleeves/Maximum Sound
August 1 , 2010

Bobo Track list
  1. Luciano - Intro
  2. Turbulence - Poor Man's Place
  3. Capleton - All Is Well
  4. Peetah Heritage - Jesse James
  5. Chezidek - Bullet Clown
  6. Fantan Mojah - Tell Lie Pon Rasta
  7. Luciano - Invasion
  8. Sizzla - Free Up The Herbs
  9. Chezidek & Anthony B - Better Haffi Come
  10. Various Artists - Rasterlude
  11. Johnny Clarke & Fantan Mojah - Rebel With A Cause
  12. Tarrus Riley - Poverty Nuh Inna Fashion
  13. Junior Kelly & Lukie D. - Back A Me Yard
  14. Anthony B - Stand Guard
  15. Zareb & Fantan Mojah - Good Meditation
  16. Anthony B - All We Have
  17. Lutan Fyah - Sanctify Yourself
  18. I-Octane - False Pretenders
  19. Jah Mali - Real Life
  20. Jah Mason - Things Will Be Better
  21. Various Artists - Outro
Rate this album!
Cast your vote below.

Essential -Votes: 18-
Very Good -Votes: 5-
Good -Votes: 1-
Average -Votes: 0-
Disappointing -Votes: 0-
A Waste Of Time -Votes: 0-

Total votes : 24
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4/5 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4
Maximum Sound is a highly respected reggae/dancehall label, founded and owned by one of the few European producers to gain recognition in reggae's homeland, Frenchie. In his teens he moved from Paris to London where he became apprentice engineer at Fashion's A Class studio. In 1993, he launched the Maximum Sound imprint and began producing tracks featuring local and international reggae acts.

By the mid-nineties he was working in Jamaica with top-flight Jamaican names such as Sly & Robbie, Dean Fraser, Richie Stephens, Mr. Vegas and Red Rat, while also Stephen 'Lenky' Marsden often collaborated with him. He's also executive producer of two Mr. Vegas albums for Greensleeves, including "Heads High". Frenchie's tracks are featured on numerous albums by artists like Fantan Mojah and Junior Kelly, whilst those appearing on his own label include Beenie Man, Elephant Man, Capleton, Sizzla, Bounty Killer, T.O.K, Mykal Rose, Sean Paul and Vybz Kartel. Such names, together with promising newcomers, can be heard on one-riddim albums such as "Jumbie", "Blue Steel", "Fowl Fight" and the popular "World Jam".

In the meantime, Frenchie continued to spearhead the resurgence of reggae back in his native France with hits by Raggasonic, who sold more than 500,000 albums there. He also produced albums with Daddy Nuttea and Big Red, recorded tracks with France's No. 1 rap group NTM and collaborated with Neg'marrons, who had a Top 20 hit with "Tout Le Monde Debout", which featured Mr Vegas. More recently, hes worked with sensational French rap group 113, whose album went gold after he'd teamed them with Buju Banton.

As more traditional reggae style songs became popular, he compiled the best-selling "Biggest Reggae One Drop Anthems" for Greensleeves and embarked on a trio of highly acclaimed albums by Anthony B. He also produced albums with Jah Mason and Lukie D, whose two sets incorporating a rich mix of soul, gospel, r&b, reggae and dancehall have been described as the singer's best-ever work. His latest solo artist album is Luciano's "United States Of Africa", which heralds the return to form by the Messenger.

In recent times, Frenchie has been working with artists like Tarrus Riley, Morgan Heritage, Alborosie, Jah Cure, Sizzla, Capleton and Gyptian, who represent the cream of today's rasta singers and deejays from Jamaica. Newer riddims such as "Zion Train", "Jah Powers", "Vineyard Town", "Party In Session", "I Know My Herbs", "Back A Yard", "Rebellion" and "Dunza" display skilful mastery of the contemporary roots idiom.

At the end of 2007 we saw the release of the wicked 21 track album "Bobo Revolution". Some two years later Frenchie unleashes the follow up to that album. Just as the first volume this one also carries 21 excellent tunes. Most of these songs definitely equal the quality standard of the previous sampler, the roll call of artists is very impressive and the choice of riddims is impeccable.

After a short accapela intro by Luciano, Turbulence performs a heartfelt acoustic version of Poor Man's Place. Then Capleton enters the stage with All Is Well, a strong cut across the "Vineyard" riddim. Peetah Heritage follows and raises the bar even higher with his version of the riddim called Jesse James. Next we get treated to two tunes on the "Party In Session" riddim. Chezidek sings about the Bullet Clown and the message is obvious, while Fantan Mojah tells us about the lies about Rasta, conspiracy, and impostors.

Luciano and Sizzla both tackle the revitalized riddim of Ernest Wilson's 1978 hittune "I Know Myself". The riddim was rebuilt by Frenchie and he called it "I Know My Herbs". Impressive tracks! Old time riddim come back again... the following two tunes are relicks of Burning Spear's "Creation Rebel" riddim, produced by Bunny Lee and Frenchie uses the original Aggrovators backdrop, but names the riddim "Rebellion". Tarrus Riley's tune make a very strong impression, while the combination Johnny Clarke and Fantan Mojah works quite well.

Mr. Vegas & Konshens were on our Hot'n'Fresh Charts for some weeks with "Help Me Praise Jahovia", and here we are treated to some more versions of the riddim. First there's the duet Good Meditation by Zareb & Fantan Mojah and next comes the fierce Anthony B with All We Have. Lutan Fyah's Sanctify Yourself and I-Octane's False Pretenders use the Johnny Clarke tune "Blood Dunza" for their backdrop. Great retro styled tunes!

"Bobo Revolution 2" is the strong cultural follow up most modern roots afficionados have been waiting for. A wicked roots vocal collection!