Bodo Riddim
Minor7Flat5-Groove Attack
May 18, 2007

Track list
  1. Poverty - Cocoa Tea
  2. Prince Of Fyah - Ras Myrhdak
  3. I Know - Capleton
  4. Troddin' - Horace Andy
  5. Fulfillment Time - Smokie Benz & Tony Tuff
  6. Shout It Out - Sizzla
  7. Love - Jayne Dough
  8. Princess - K-Oss
  9. This Whole World - Josie Mel & Lutan Fyah
  10. Almighty King - Ricky Ticky
  11. Prement - Anthony Red Roze
  12. Rudy Boy - Beenie Man
  13. Me Come From - Al Pancho
  14. Bodo Riddim (Version) - Andreas 'Brotherman' Christophersen
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 5 Backing : 5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4
Gran Canaria, Spain based German reggae producer Andreas 'Brotherman' Christophersen finally releases a one riddim album on his own Minor7Flat5 label, proudly presenting the 'Bodo'-riddim. Brotherman, who has become a favourite producer of mine with albums with great riddims by essentially the Firehouse Crew, George 'Dusty' Miller, Leroy 'Horsemouth' Wallace, Danny Bassie, Paul 'Wrongmove' Crossdale, Lloyd 'Obeah' Denton, Dean Frazer, Nambo Robinson, Dwight Richards, Uziah 'Sticky' Thompson and others, artist(s) albums like Luciano's "Tell It >From The Heart", Al Pancho's "Righteous Men", and Lutan Fyah's "Dem No Know Demself" and last year Anthony B's "My Hope", "Rasta Still De' Bout" by Josie Mel, Tony Tuff's "Say Something", Turbulence's "Do Good" and Ras Myrhdak's "Prince Of Fyah Vol. 1" as well as the album "The Good, The Bad & The Blazing" featuring Junior Kelly, Bounty Killer & Capleton.

Sweet voiced veteran dancehall and roots singer Cocoa Tea is the first to deliver his sufferers accusation "Poverty" - that will also be featured on his upcoming album "Biological Warfare" on Minor7Flat5 - over this wicked horns embellished roots riddim, that will also be released on 7" in Jamaica, distributed by In The Streetz, followed by Ras Myrhdak delivering the fierce and fiery title track of his recently released album "Prince Of Fyah" and the 'King Of Fyah' Capleton with the excellent condemnation of wickedness "I Know". Studio One veteran Horace Andy is in very fine form (and so are the female backing vocalists) on "Troddin", before Tony Tuff & Smokie Benz deliver the opening track of the former's "Say Something" album "Fulfillment Time" on which the 'Bodo'-riddim, convincing deejaying by Smokie Benz and Tony's nasal delivery melt together perfectly in this wicked roots combination.

Sizzla urges the ghetto youths to "Shout It Out" in his angry yet very strong contribution, before female newcomer Jayne Dough impresses with "Love" on which the male backingvocals are a perfect sweet counterpart of her commanding DJ delivery and male newcoming crooner K-oss impresses as well with his smooth lovers tune "Princess". Then Josie Mel gives us a hint of what can be expected on his soon to be released second album for Minor7Flat5 (following the excellent "Rasta Still De' Bout") in the magnificent combination that will be the title track "This Whole World". Former Stone Love DJ Ricky Ticky convinces with the conscious "Almighty King" before veteran (digital) dancehall singjay Anthony Red Roze speaks out against 'frienemies' in a great way in "Prement".

Beenie Man's "Rude Boy" is an absolutely brilliant tune that shows how great, melodic and imposing he can be over the right roots riddim, before Al Pancho, who too often has been discarded as just a Buju Banton sound-a-like, shows on the last vocal tune over this 'Bodo'-riddim he has got his own style though clearly being influenced by Buju, on the boastful "Me Come From". Brotherman's production of this superb by Leroy 'Horsemouth' Wallace (drums), Andrew Campbell (bass), Lloyd 'Obeah' Denton (keyboards) and Sticky 'Uziah' Thompson (percussion) laid "Bodo Riddim Version" takes the spotlight itself to showcase how extremely well done the musical backing of these great tunes. A Minor7Flat5/Brotherman one riddim album in my opinion was long overdue and this "Bodo Riddim" easily shows why!