Bonafide Riddim
Akom Records
June 20, 2011

Bonafide Riddim - Dub Akom Track list
  1. Pressure Buss Pipe - Be Conscious
  2. Ricardo Clarke - Only Got Love
  3. Natty King - Mi Nuh Guilty
  4. Ilements - Look To The East
  5. Jah Marnyah - A New Day
  6. Konshens - Weak
  7. Lutan Fyah - Fight It
  8. Jahnett Tafari - Let The Music Play
  9. Anthony John - Love
  10. Jah Mason - Life Is The Greatest
  11. Rebellion The Recaller - Donít Give A Damn
  12. Bugle feat. Black Dillinger & Pu2ma - Better Days
  13. Sugar Roy & Conrad Crystal - Clear
  14. Nefatari - Naked
  15. YT - Nah Gi Yu Weh
  16. Dub Akom - Bonafide Riddim
Rate this album!
Cast your vote below.

Essential -Votes: 2-
Very Good -Votes: 3-
Good -Votes: 2-
Average -Votes: 0-
Disappointing -Votes: 0-
A Waste Of Time -Votes: 0-

Total votes : 7
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4 Backing : 5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3
Dub Akom, riddim makers and backing band from Marseille, France, entered the 'one riddim' biz in the summer of 2008 with the release of the powerful rootical "Vitamin" riddim, which in 2009 was followed by the blazing "Highlight" riddim. For these two riddims, both put on cd in 2010, they recruited prominent Jamaican artists like Natty King, Lutan Fyah, and Jah Mason, as well as talented artists from England, South Africa, Montserrat, and US Virgin Islands.

The same concept has been used for Dub Akom's latest riddim entitled "Bonafide", a great laid-back modern roots riddim incorporating live instrumentation and a sublime bass line. It first caught our attention in the last quarter of 2010 through the release of Konshens' boom tune "Weak", and now the single reappears on cd together with 14 additional vocal cuts plus the straight version of the riddim. As usual Dub Akom's careful selection of artists includes well known names like Pressure Buss Pipe, Natty King, Lutan Fyah, Jah Mason, Jah Marnyah, Konshens, Sugar Roy & Conrad Crystal, and Anthony John, but also up-and-coming names such as songstress Nefatari (Jamaica), fine singer Ricardo Clarke (Bahamas), Jahnett Tafari (South Africa), and Rebellion The Recaller (Gambia), who are given the opportunity to showcase their skill and talent.

Pressure Buss Pipe, who impressed with "Hail Fari" on the "Highlight" riddim, starts the proceedings with "Be Conscious", another winner on a Dub Akom riddim. Together with Ricardo Clarke's matching "Only Got Love" and Natty King's excellent "Mi Nuh Guilty", Pressure Buss Bipe's cut forms a great opening of an entertaining 'one-riddim' collection of tunes. From there the quality of the tunes almost doesn't dip. The big artists, Konshens ("Weak"), Lutan Fyah ("Fight It") and Jah Mason ("Life Is The Greatest"), live up to expectations as their efforts make a real good impression throughout. Also much promising Jah Marnyah delivers an awesome piece called "A New Day". Don't overlook Illements' solid "Look To The East", Anthony John's inspired sounding "Love", YT's "Nah Gi Yuh Weh", and "Better Days" by Bugle feat. Black Dillinger & Pu2ma either, 'cause they are truly worth hearing.

All in all this is a very fine selection from start to finish!